Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Click image for larger version

Name:	spek.jpg
Views:	664
Size:	341.4 KB
ID:	52875

It's a quick question. I'll add why I'm asking, but it's not necessary to read it, because I'm really a newbie and may have many misconceptions for a single thread.

I've noticed all AC3 tracks from my DVDs show cut at 20 kHz on Spek, and I thought they were cut that way to better take advantage of the limited bitrate, storing data only on the audible range.

Then, I found that the only DVD-Audio I have sounds better on the MLP part than on the AC3 one, and I'm trying to investigate why is that, because I'm a skeptic on Hi-Res audio. I converted an MLP track to ̶A̶A̶C̶ ALAC, only because Spek won't open MLP, and to AC3 (448 and 640) to compare if it sounds better than the original AC3 448. And I found what I'm showing in the image. AC3 limited to 20 kHz. selecting both 48 and 44,1 kHz samplig rates, and both files having the exact same size. Then, I converted to DTS and the spectrum goes up to the expected 24 kHz. I used Xmedia Recode

Why have a 48 or a 44,1 Khz sampling frequency, if they end up limited at the same 40 kHz?
    Last edited by MLP; 27th Apr 2020 at 10:52.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Spek is perhaps limited to 22 kHz, at least such maximum I saw for files which go over it. MLP is lossless compression for PCM, while AC3 is lossy. Unless you are bat , you won't hear deference between lossless audio cut at or well before 20 kHz, like FM at approx. 16 kHz. Higher sampling frequencies have different purpose than to carry a sound - it's to reduce intermodulation distortion and to preserve more dynamics.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM