VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi this is my first post as a newbie, I am also getting on in years (I can remember WW2) so please be patient.
    I recently downloaded AVC intending to convert a 42Mb file (approx. 1.5 mins) to MP4. The resulting MP4 conversion is 24Mb regardless of what Video size I select. I would have thought that there would be some sort of relationship between file size and video size. Can anyone help?
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    No such relationship.

File size = runlength * bitrate

So your new file has a smaller bitrate than the original.
    Quote Quote  
  3. I think every single person has this same question when they first start encoding. After all, if each video frame has more resolution (e.g., HD vs. SD), the file size should be larger, right? I know I initially thought exactly the same thing, but it is wrong.

However, it turns out that, as DB83 says, the number of bits per second ("bitrate") is the only metric which determines file size. Once this is pointed out, you will suddenly have an "ah ha" moment where you realize that "bit per second" is telling you -- as the phrase clearly states -- how many bits will be taken out of that video file every second. You then, as DB83's formula shows, multiply that by how long the video runs, and it will give you the total number of bits, which is the same thing as the file size.

The implication of this, of course, is that if you DO have a higher-definition file (1920x1080 vs. 640x480, for instance), then if you keep the bitrate the same for each of them, there will be a lot fewer bits available to encode each frame of the higher-res file, and it will not look very good.