VideoHelp Forum
Closed Thread
Page 1 of 4
1 2 3 ... LastLast
Thread
  1. About me.

I'm a filmmaker and TV Producer who works on documentary films. For the past two years, I've been working on my own independent documentary. It will be my first feature doc as a Director. I've self-funded this endeavor and will continue so til funds roll in from grants or investors.

My problem.

This film will rely heavily on archival footage from the late 90's era. I've amassed VHS tapes, VHS-C and Hi8 tapes ready for transfer. It's time for me to start digitizing these tapes into lossless uncompressed files that I can later hand off to an editor.

While in production, I've been shooting my interviews, b-roll and other footage using an FS5 mark 2, capturing with Final Cut Pro X and saving onto multiple drives. Storage is not an issue.

This film will eventually make it's way to digital platforms such as Netflix and will likely have a limited indie theatre run.

Keeping this in mind, what is the best possible workflow that I could have for this?

I want to give my editor flexibility, room for color correction, ect with these digitized files.

Has anyone here worked in the broadcast/TV space?

Thank you!

VVF

2. Capturing Memories dellsam34's Avatar
    Search PM
    Ideally you would need a pro capture device with some sort of frame synchronizer / TBC such as the BrightEye 75 (I have one that I will be listing shortly) and a camcorder or a deck built in line TBC for line jitter reduction and DNR for chroma cleanup since you are dealing with consumer formats. The BE75 captures to digital SDI that suits your pro gear otherwise you would need to install a SDI PCIe expansion card if you don't have one.

Honestly if you don't have a lot of tapes it is better to get in touch with a member here including myself who has the right gear that can do them for you, it may cost you less than investing in such gear if you don't plan to use it again.