VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and copy Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs! Or rip iTunes movies and music! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 19 of 19
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    King of Prussia, PA
    Search PM
    Not sure what the interest level may be, but thought I would at least make it known that I wrote a command line Cineform encoder for Linux. Mac is also supported, but the main purpose and value is Linux, for which no native Cineform encoder has been available up to now.

    You can find it here (with full details, please visit the site before asking questions). It's free/OSS of course.

    https://github.com/marksfink/cfenc

    If you have interest, feedback, questions, feel free to ask!
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Central Germany
    Search PM
    Interesting project. If it can be linked as encoder back into ffmpeg, then it can also be a free alternative for Windows users, as much as users of other OS.
    Quote Quote  
  3. DECEASED
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Heaven
    Search Comp PM
    "Like this facility, I don't exist."
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Central Germany
    Search PM
    Anyway ... using ffmpeg as I/O module in cfenc is one way; using cfenc as encoder in ffmpeg is a different one, and the more versatile.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    King of Prussia, PA
    Search PM
    There was a ticket open to add Cineform encoding to FFmpeg. It was opened a while ago. It was closed on the basis that Cineform source is tied to x86 architecture and FFmpeg supports many architectures -- therefore they won't add it to FFmpeg. So rather than fight that, I just wrote my own program. I'm all for adding Cineform encoding to FFmpeg but I thought it would be an enormous amount of work to support architectures other than x86, so not practical.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Central Germany
    Search PM
    Thanks for the explanation then...
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    Not to tell you what to do, because I understand that these sorts of changes aren't trivial, but why not CHANGE the Cineform source so it isn't tied to x86?

    Scott
    Quote Quote  
  8. DECEASED
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Heaven
    Search Comp PM
    The truth is, many /most professional programmers in the OSS universe are lazy but do not have the courage to admit it...

    And even when someone offers them some money, their laziness ++ their hypocrisy may speak louder ↓↓

    https://sourceforge.net/p/gpac/discussion/287546/thread/43881fa9/

    &&

    https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1878320#post1878320

    Last but not least...
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	cineform&&ffmpeg.png
Views:	29
Size:	60.4 KB
ID:	52692  

    "Like this facility, I don't exist."
    Quote Quote  
  9. DECEASED
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Heaven
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by marksfink View Post
    There was a ticket open to add Cineform encoding to FFmpeg. It was opened a while ago. It was closed on the basis that Cineform source is tied to x86 architecture and FFmpeg supports many architectures -- therefore they won't add it to FFmpeg.
    source→→ https://trac.ffmpeg.org/ticket/6863
    "Like this facility, I don't exist."
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    Yup.
    My experience in IT tells me that response to the ticket is BS. Shame.

    Thank you, marksink, for your efforts!

    Scott
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Croatia
    Search Comp PM
    Cineform code is BS. It can not be included in FFmpeg as is. Live with it.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    Who said anything about as-is?


    Scott
    Last edited by Cornucopia; 10th Apr 2020 at 21:20.
    Quote Quote  
  13. DECEASED
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Heaven
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by richardpl View Post
    Cineform code is BS. It can not be included in FFmpeg as is.
    Thanks for stating the obvious.

    And for confirming that being a highly-skilled programmer /developer / software """engineer""" cannot stop anyone from being a sophist
    "Like this facility, I don't exist."
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Croatia
    Search Comp PM
    OT: We accept donations in time and money!
    Quote Quote  
  15. DECEASED
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Heaven
    Search Comp PM
    I don't know what Paul B. Mahol wrote in the post above because his name is on my Ignore List

    For now I say only this:

    in 2017 he could have given me a straight-to-the-point answer, but he chose to write a trollish one instead.
    "Like this facility, I don't exist."
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Croatia
    Search Comp PM
    Welcome to my ignore list.
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Central Germany
    Search PM
    Could we please return to the topic? Or is this already "cabin fever"?
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    King of Prussia, PA
    Search PM
    I found it was very easy to add, so I created a branch called "alpha" on the Github repo for an update that supports alpha channels.

    I will merge it into the master branch once I get confirmation from at least one person that it works correctly. I did some basic testing and believe it is good.

    This is in response to an issue opened in the Github repo, so at least one person cares about it!

    It works very simply: if the input video has an alpha channel then it automatically encodes to RGBA. No command-line option for it. I was surprised to find that the Cineform SDK does not support YUVA, which is why we encode to RGBA and don't bother with a command line option.
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    King of Prussia, PA
    Search PM
    Posted version 0.2:

    Support "-i -" for piped input (previously required "pipe:")
    Support BT.2020 coefficients for conversions
    Add passthrough for v210 -- this was an oversight on my part, no harm caused previously, just more efficient now
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads