VideoHelp Forum

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Cyprus
    Search Comp PM
    So I finally spent 17Euros on the latest DivX Pro, my last owned version being 6.8.2. I went to encode my latest creation from Lagarith to Divx, but in my codec list in VirtualDub I still have DivX 6.8.2, no sign of any DivX 10. Is this correct ?

    I tried using the DivX converter, but it seems to have only presets available, no unconstrained bit rate/frame rate options ?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Are both 32 bit or 64 bit?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Cyprus
    Search Comp PM
    I just installed the 64bit version of VirtualDub, no DivX codecs showing up
    Quote Quote  
  4. DECEASED
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Heaven
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by blewyn View Post
    So I finally spent 17Euros on the latest DivX Pro, my last owned version being 6.8.2. I went to encode my latest creation from Lagarith to Divx, but in my codec list in VirtualDub I still have DivX 6.8.2, no sign of any DivX 10. Is this correct ?
    The last MPEG-4 ASP encoder from DivX is the version 6.9.2, built on 2010/February/19.
    Then they switched to H.264 and later to HEVC.
    "Like this facility, I don't exist."
    Quote Quote  
  5. I confirm latest ver: 6.9.2
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Cyprus
    Search Comp PM
    OK, so I should see a H.264 and HEVC codecs in VirtualDUb ?
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by blewyn View Post
    OK, so I should see a H.264 and HEVC codecs in VirtualDUb ?
    Virtualdub2
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Cyprus
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    Originally Posted by blewyn View Post
    OK, so I should see a H.264 and HEVC codecs in VirtualDUb ?
    Virtualdub2
    Thank you !
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member AEN007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Croatia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    Originally Posted by blewyn View Post
    "OK, so I should see a H.264 and HEVC codecs in VirtualDUb ?"
    Virtualdub2
    Greetings , Earthlings ...
    I'm back ... after an absence of half-a-dozen or so years ...
    I've (also) been wondering about NOT seeing the DivX codec
    show up (anymore) in VirtualDub options ...

    Previously I was using WinXPx86 ...
    Now I have W7x64 & W10x64 ...
    I have my previous/old(er) x86 VirtualDub "installs"
    and also the x64 VirtualDub release ...

    Could/Would someone "elaborate" for (not only) my benefit
    what this thread implies about DivX & VirtualDub
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member AEN007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Croatia
    Search Comp PM
    Greetings , Earthlings ...
    Please reply/advise

    Originally Posted by AEN007 View Post
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    Originally Posted by blewyn View Post
    "OK, so I should see a H.264 and HEVC codecs in VirtualDUb ?"
    Virtualdub2
    Greetings , Earthlings ...
    I'm back ... after an absence of half-a-dozen or so years ...
    I've (also) been wondering about NOT seeing the DivX codec
    show up (anymore) in VirtualDub options ...

    Previously I was using WinXPx86 ...
    Now I have W7x64 & W10x64 ...
    I have my previous/old(er) x86 VirtualDub "installs"
    and also the x64 VirtualDub release ...

    Could/Would someone "elaborate" for (not only) my benefit
    what this thread implies about DivX & VirtualDub
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Virtualdub probably looking for VFW codecs. The older versions of Divx/Xvid certainly installed one, but I don't know
    about your particular release. Look in the registry to see if you can see them.
    https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/389362-batch-that-verify-if-a-VFW-codec-is-install...ws#post2522494
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member AEN007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Croatia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    Virtualdub probably looking for VFW codecs.
    The older versions of Divx/Xvid certainly installed one,
    but I don't know about your particular release.
    Look in the registry to see if you can see them.

    https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/389362-batch-that-verify-if-a-VFW-codec-is-installed-and-usable-by-Windows#post2522494
    Thanx ... for the reply
    This WeekEnd I found/made time to "checkout" VirtualDub2 ...
    When/While poking around,
    I came across the following (under Xvid Options):
    Image
    [Attachment 60143 - Click to enlarge]

    which seems to be an INDIRECT way (for me) to encode with the DivX codec ???

    Perhaps the DivX-VFWcodec only installs with the Pro package ???

    Interested in "hearing" any thoughts/insights about this
    Last edited by AEN007; 1st Aug 2021 at 22:46.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member AEN007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Croatia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by AEN007 View Post
    Thanx ... for the reply
    This WeekEnd I found/made time to "checkout" VirtualDub2 ...
    When/While poking around,
    I came across the following (under Xvid Options):
    Image
    [Attachment 60143 - Click to enlarge]

    which seems to be an INDIRECT way (for me) to encode with the DivX codec ???

    Perhaps the DivX-VFWcodec only installs with the Pro package ???

    Interested in "hearing" any thoughts/insights about this
    ↟↟↟↟↟↟↟↟↟
    Quote Quote  
  14. Indirect yes, you will be using the Xvid codec but encoding to DivX standard for devices.
    Which may be better, since the latest Xvid is "newer" than the last .avi type DivX codec, if this is what you wanted.
    Any reason why DivX though?
    Last edited by blud7; 9th Aug 2021 at 04:00.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads