VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Nikonitis
    Search Comp PM
    Does it matter what digital method is used to basically convert Hi8 tapes to digital files. I have used EZGrabber VideoGlide Capture, taking the files from my 1997 Sony CCD TR920e. What I don't know is if this method has produced a good basic file or, are there better ways to create cleaner, sharper files? The .mov files I have created seemed a bit grainy with lines appearing across the image occasionally. I suppose this could have something to do with the heads on the camera, but I have no comparison. My Hi8 tapes are 25 years old, have been stored sensitively and are, for the most part, in pristine condition, having not been played since they were pulled out of the camera after being recorded. If the answer to this is long and technical, I am a novice so please be kind!
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Perhaps you can provide an untouched sample from one of your captures.
    The theory, with an analogue camera, is to provide the best possible analog signal to be digitizing device
    many times this calls for a time base corrector in the path, particularly with VHS.

Then the quality of the capture device and the codec used for compressing (lossless is best) the stream comes into play.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Kajaboss View Post