VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 16 of 16
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Spain (Canary)
    Search PM
    I have an old capture card, AverMedia LGP Lite and I have noticed that when I capture 720p60fps the video transitions are fluid and smooth, despite getting some serious duplicates, but when I set the card to 1080p60fps I get fewer duplicates and the transitions stutter a bit.

    My question is, from the 60hz that the card is receiving and the 30 that it's actually capturing, am I missing important frames even though the original frame rate of the video is 23.976? if so which avisynth filter could help smooth the motion where it really shows, thanks.

    So far I have been able to remove the dupes with tdecimate() but I'm not quite sure how to make the video smoother.
    Quote Quote  
  2. If you capture a 24p movie at 30 fps you won't be missing frames (assuming the capture worked correctly) but you will have a duplicate frame every 5th frame. Ie, 4 frames becomes 5 by duplicating one of those frames. Hence 24 frames becomes 30. You can eliminate those extra frames with TDecimate(). That should make it as smooth as 24 fps ever is. After TDecimate() step through a medium speed panning shot and look at the motion at every frame. Are there duplicates or missing frames (jumps in the motion)?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Spain (Canary)
    Search PM
    Yeah I notice the duplicate every 5 frames and the motion compared to when I capture 60fps 720p is more robotic, sometimes it looks good and then for a moment it stutters.

    Also if the card is getting 60hz and the result is 30fps, aren't I losing 30 frames and maybe within these frames there are several good ones? I mean, when I record at 60fps 720p the motion is flawless even though it has way more duplicated frames of course.


    Edit: Here's a clip from the video, still not decimated

    https://mega.nz/#!LIYWlA4C!hDUex5pTDAdW4Fmfx7bLPwKLF6BuytoIPtYw755SXp8
    Last edited by nMaib0; 6th Mar 2020 at 20:10.
    Quote Quote  
  4. 24p material is normally converted to 60p by using 3:2 duplicates:

    Code:
    1 1 2 2 2 3 3 4 4 4 5 5 6 6 6 7 7 8 8 8...
    If you capture that at 30 fps you should get every other frame:

    Code:
    1   2   2   3   4   5   6   6   7   8...
    You can see the result that one of every 4 frames is duplicated (2, and 6 here). TDecimate() by default removes 1 duplicate out of every 5 frames:

    Code:
    1   2       3   4   5   6       7   8...
    Leaving you with the original 24p film frames. If you're not getting smooth playback from that there is probably something wrong with the capture. Or maybe the source wasn't really 24p.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Spain (Canary)
    Search PM
    Alright, thanks for helping me with my question. is there a way to make the motion smoother with avisynth?
    Quote Quote  
  6. I recommend you post a short sample with a long medium speed panning shot for analysis.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Mountains of gear vaporeon800's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Search PM
    Don't know whether this one works the same way as some of AVerMedia's other capture devices, but:

    The ExtremeCap U3 has a ridiculous bug where 1080p59.94 is captured as 1080p60.00 with duplicate frames added. I guess it's a bug across all of AVerMedia's hardware, as the C127 card I have is supposed to capture "1080p60 as 1080p30" but instead of just dropping half the frames from 1080p59.94 it creates a 1080p30.00 video. The problem may be unnoticeable to most in direct viewing, but for example if you have a PS3 playing back 23.976 -> 59.940 -> 30.000 it's impossible to recover the original 23.976 frame rate. (I mention this because my own reason for buying the card was recording Vudu. I can just record 1080p23.976 Vudu direct from my WD TV, but I can't download my purchases to hard drive prior to capturing like I can on PS3. So I have to rely on my internet connection to keep up with streaming.)
    https://originaltrilogy.com/topic/How-to-capture-HDCP-encrypted-HDMI-sources-Vudu-Netf.../page/5#717216
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Spain (Canary)
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    I recommend you post a short sample with a long medium speed panning shot for analysis.
    Sorry for the delay, see, in these videos you can see that there is a little bump every certain amount of time, as if some frames were missing. And I can't help but wonder how this device can detect out of 60 fps which ones are duplicated and which ones are not and produce a 30fps video that includes all the frames that matter. my guess is that out of the 60 that the signal carries 30 are taken in and other 30 ignored, and these 30 carry these missing frames, because it's not an issue of quality, I have captured at 10 mbps and at 40 and the result is the same, a slight bump noticeable in scenes with slow motion scenes. on the other hand, I have used tdecimate() with avisynth and the resulting video with no dupes is a perfect 23.976 fps video.

    https://mega.nz/#F!fVJHHIxS!fCAoihzUyQUSmT4KU5AqbA


    I don't understand why it is smoother when I capture at 60fps if the video I am capturing is 23.976 fps. The problem is my capture card captures 60fps only at 720p.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Originally Posted by nMaib0 View Post
    Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    I recommend you post a short sample with a long medium speed panning shot for analysis.
    Sorry for the delay, see, in these videos you can see that there is a little bump every certain amount of time, as if some frames were missing. And I can't help but wonder how this device can detect out of 60 fps which ones are duplicated and which ones are not and produce a 30fps video that includes all the frames that matter. my guess is that out of the 60 that the signal carries 30 are taken in and other 30 ignored, and these 30 carry these missing frames, because it's not an issue of quality, I have captured at 10 mbps and at 40 and the result is the same, a slight bump noticeable in scenes with slow motion scenes. on the other hand, I have used tdecimate() with avisynth and the resulting video with no dupes is a perfect 23.976 fps video.

    https://mega.nz/#F!fVJHHIxS!fCAoihzUyQUSmT4KU5AqbA


    These were already processed, 10bit 4:2:0 HEVC, 23.976fps

    How did you get from original to that ?

    Check in the undecimated capture that the frames are really missing, and it's not the result of wrong decimation or improper processing afterwards

    If they are present, maybe you need to use a bigger "window" for the decimation ? such as 2 in 10, 3 in 15, 4 in 20, etc... This can help if the duplicate is mistimed or slightly out of order
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Spain (Canary)
    Search PM
    This is a clip from the original video
    https://mega.nz/#!rRYFxABT!aaQ99mvvq8mZHlGrcNo5h4SlHHXUdRX3ABagp5xjhWc

    this I used this script
    Code:
    LoadPlugin("C:\AvsPmod\tools\mvtools2.dll")
    LoadPlugin("C:\AvsPmod\tools\TIVTC.dll")
    LoadPlugin("C:\AvsPmod\tools\neo-f3kdb.dll")
    LoadPlugin("C:\AvsPmod\ffms2.dll")
    s="F:\1y2.mp4"
    v=FFVideoSource(s)
    a=FFAudioSource(s)
    audiodub(v, a)
    trim(809,123180)
    tdecimate()
    Sharpen(0.2)
    super = MSuper(pel=2, sharp=1)
    backward_vec2 = MAnalyse(super, isb = true, delta = 2, overlap=4)
    backward_vec1 = MAnalyse(super, isb = true, delta = 1, overlap=4)
    forward_vec1 = MAnalyse(super, isb = false, delta = 1, overlap=4)
    forward_vec2 = MAnalyse(super, isb = false, delta = 2, overlap=4)
    MDegrain2(super, backward_vec1,forward_vec1,backward_vec2,forward_vec2,thSAD=400)
    neo_f3kdb()
    Quote Quote  
  11. Your video was a 25p PAL source (24p film sped up to 25p) captured at 29.97p. One out of every 6 frames is a duplicate (except every 1001 frames). Use TDecimate(Cycle=6, CycleR=1) to return it to 25p. Actually that returns it to 24.975 fps but that remaining "one out of every 1001 frames" can be elusive. You can see the error in this clip just after the camera starts panning over the newspaper clippings (one jerk). Usin mode 2 and specifying 25 fps instead: TDecimate(mode=2, rate=25.0). But over the entire movie you may still end up with occasional jerks either way.
    Last edited by jagabo; 24th Mar 2020 at 10:11.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Spain (Canary)
    Search PM
    So by using the default mode I was removing more frames than I actually needed right? Thanks I am encoding the video now again and will check it in a few hours.

    by the way how could you tell?
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Spain (Canary)
    Search PM
    I don't mind not having it at 25p exactly, if you tell me TDecimate(mode=2, rate=25.0) is better then I will use that one instead.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Spain (Canary)
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    Your video was a 25p PAL source (24p film sped up to 25p) captured at 29.97p. One out of every 6 frames is a duplicate (except every 1001 frames). Use TDecimate(Cycle=6, CycleR=1) to return it to 25p. Actually that returns it to 24.975 fps but that remaining "one out of every 1001 frames" can be elusive. You can see the error in this clip just after the camera starts panning over the newspaper clippings (one jerk). Usin mode 2 and specifying 25 fps instead: TDecimate(mode=2, rate=25.0). But over the entire movie you may still end up with occasional jerks either way.
    which one should I use?
    Quote Quote  
  15. Originally Posted by nMaib0 View Post
    So by using the default mode I was removing more frames than I actually needed right?
    Yes.

    Originally Posted by nMaib0 View Post
    by the way how could you tell?
    First I took your word for it that the clip was originally 24p and encoded it with just TDecimate(). I saw it was jerky. So I looked at the original clip in an editor and saw that there was a duplicate every 6 frames (5 frames became 6 by duplicating one), not every 5 frames (4 frames became 5 by duplicating one). That meant the original 25p not 24p.

    Originally Posted by nMaib0 View Post
    I don't mind not having it at 25p exactly, if you tell me TDecimate(mode=2, rate=25.0) is better then I will use that one instead.
    In theory the latter is better for 25 sped up to 59.94p. But reliably detecting that one frame difference between 59.94p and 60p is difficult. It may or may not work better than the former. What that short clip it did.
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Spain (Canary)
    Search PM
    Jagabom thanks for everything man you really helped me.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads