VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Dear all,

I wanted to make my Panasonic DMR-EX77 region free. However I found a hack on this very site but doesn't seem to make much sense, as I am new to this.

It suggests you can use any URC and I have a couple, however it makes use of a word "magic button" which you have to press. Even though I looked up the very recommended remote URC-7740, URC-8040 on Ebay and found a clear picture of it, there is no button called "magic"??? I have the original remote which according to another website can work too if you hold down the yellow butting, but nothing happened.

If anyone can assist I'd be grateful! Furthermore how do I contact the original poster?

https://www.videohelp.com/dvdhacks/panasonic-dmr-ex77/8251
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    see this PDF guide - http://www.rockabilly.net/files/manuals/URC-7740.pdf
    #1 button is the magic/setup button
    Quote Quote  
  3. Thanks for your response, not sure how I missed that. OK so it looks like its use in the guide is to be part of the remote programming function where you change which device it is being programmed to control. So in principle I wonder if I can simply substitute that on the URC I have? I have a SUPPORTPLUS SP-URC-81-L and here is a manual however the remote looks slightly different. Mine remote is black and rectangle in shape but this manual is for a silver curvy one?

http://e.manualretriever.com/lect.php?ID=569716&lg=E&h=d41d8cd98f00b204e9800998ecf8427e&src=15
    Quote Quote  
  4. well I'm pretty sure my URC is not programmable int he sense of being able to programed a specific button to hold the numbers in the guide on this site like you can with the special remote. I'm trying to see if my relative has a laptop with an infrared port. Shame I can't easily find a iso I can just burn to disc to update it that way.
    Quote Quote