VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hey, i found this forum from random a google search and i was hoping maybe somebody could point me in the right direction if this is not the place i should be posting. I've gotten into the hobby vintage media. I've fallen in love with the sport of lost media hunting, and the most lucrative place to find that type of thing is on old video formats like "beta cam, u-matic, and type-c reels". But in order to view these out old dated video formats i have to acquire the equipment and maintain it. When something goes wrong with my equipment i have use my general knowledge in electric and mechanical engineering, but i have no resource or working knowledge to trouble shoot with (other than the occasional service manual i find online). I cant find a forum like this one that specializes in antique and outdated media formats. When i post about trouble shooting my U-matic machine on reddit i'm met with extreme hostility and it puzzles me, so dont like going there. I'm not a complete dunce when it comes to fixing these machines, i dont need someone to hold my hand i just sometimes need a general direction to look in when i'm clueless as to the issues i encounter. I have basic Electrical and Mechanical Engineering knowledge. Would this be a forum i could post on or should i keep moving on? Thanks!
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    I do not know about reddit but most respondents on here are courteous even if they can not specifically help you.

As long as you stay in the forum rules I see no problem in posting.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Welcome to the forum!

Here's my take on your quest (it's a bit sobering):

1. Most SD media that is archived, that is not a consumer copy, is indeed probably on 1"C, BetaCam/BetaCamSP, 3/4"Umatic, and similar formats. There are a couple of problems with going down this route of capturing/revitalizing this vintage media, however.