VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi All,

I recently found an old DVD that is dear to me. I was able to rip it and now have the video TS folder. For whatever reason it runs on older macs but not on the newer ones. Anyway my macs don't have the drives anymore. The video_ts output folder I have crashed newer versions of handbrake, vlc etc but when I downloaded an older version of handbrake I was fine. I would like to achieve two things.

1. What are the best settings to make more or less a one to one copy in a different "format" from the video_TS ? I would hope that output wouldn;t crash but I would like to preserve "the best sound and audio" quality possible (DVD is from 2002). Size is not an issue, future compatibility (as best as we can guess is)

2. After I have a new master copy what would you recommend as reasonable settings for "normal" use?

Thanks for the help.
    Philly
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Thread moved to the mac forum where you can get more help.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    use makemkv for mac. it will give you the original quality mpeg-2 video and original audio in an mkv format file.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  4. I apologize and appreciate the move. I did not notice that there was a mac forum and thank you aedipuss for your recommendation. I'll start there
    Quote Quote  
  5. https://developer.android.com/guide/topics/media/media-formats
    https://www.videohelp.com/software/Mpg2Cut2

I use mpg2cut to rapidly convert and combine vob files into a mpeg-2 file. Works great and fast.

Pc program, but you can quickly install Windows in virtualbox or boot camp on your Mac. (And, having windows lets you have access to all the windows video programs later.)

Mpeg-2 codec is what dvds are mastered in, so the vob is mpeg-2 data formatted in a way dvd players understand.