VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I've been using OBS to record a 3Mbps sports video stream (in Chrome) on an old laptop. It works fine but I'm still interested in other, hopefully less resource intensive options.

I'm a novice at this and not sure what specs I need to provide so here's....a ton of them -

System

Processor - Intel Pentium Dual Core 2020M 2.40 Ghz (full spec sheet)
    GPU - Onboard Intel HD Graphics (Shared system memory)
    RAM - 6 GB DDR3 1600
    Operating System - Windows 8.1

Current OBS Video/Output Settings

Original Resolution - 1280 x 720
    Output Resolution - 960 x 540 (I'm downscaling because 720p maxed out CPU)
    Format - MP4
    Encoder - x264
    Rate Control - CBR
    Bitrate - 1920 Kbps
    Frames Per Second - 30.00
    CPU Preset - Veryfast
    Profile - Baseline
    Tune - None
    Process Priority - Normal
    Renderer - Direct3D 11
    Color Format - NV12
    Color Space - 601
    Color Range - Partial
    Sources - Enable Browser Source Hardware Acceleration

With this setup the load on the CPU stays right around 50% and RAM around 30% but, as mentioned, I'd like to use less and still get decent quality results.

I'm fine with free or paid ( under $100) options. If you have a suggestion I'd love to hear it. Any suggestions on what settings I can tweak for quality/resource balance would be a bonus.

Thanks!
    Quote Quote  
  2. 1. Is the laptop using a ssd drive?
    If you increase the bitrare/resolution/etc, and the hdd isn't fast enough to handle the data rate, it'll max out.

2. Mp4 is very cpu intensive to encode without an Intel cpu that has Quicksync (typically all i3-i9 cpus after the second generation.)

Lighter formats like mpeg-2 can help lighten the load on her cpu during recording. You'd have to encode to mp4 afterwards.
    Quote Quote  
  3. You shouldn't... unless you don't care about quality.

Originally Posted by db09 View Post
    ...sports video stream (in Chrome)