VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    Hi, I'm relatively new to Video capturing stuff, sorry if this is really obvious.

I've been trying to capture some old footage off a 8mm tape using our old family Sanyo VM-D66P, a cheap £20 AV converter I got off amazon, and VideoDub2.

I initially set everything up, tested it and it ran smoothly; I then tested VideoDub using a VHS player, which ran good; then I ran into some unrelated trouble with the driver (fine now); then getting back to do the actual recording I think either the camcorder or the tape has now been corrupted.

The audio levels are way too high, with DB levels reaching 0 DB on VideoDub (making childhood memories sound like a static hellish nightmare). I initially thought it was the driver, again, but testing it on another PC (and the TV) produced the same results; I then thought it might be the sampling rates but that didn't help either. I repeated this a couple of times on the same area of playback before realising what was up.

Testing it with a recording on a blank tape and the issue repeated itself on playback, though not to the same degree. Unfortunately I don't have any recordings to give a sample. Just to note, it was working perfectly the first time I ran it.

So have I f**d up and destroyed the tape? Or would it be possible to recover it using another camcorder / Lowering the DB levels in something like audacity?
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    If it is happening when outputting to the TV, sounds like it's baked into the tape permanently.
    Quote Quote