VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello all

This is not a post I wanted to have to publish, especially being my first on this forum

Unfortunately, I believe I may have been ripped off by a member of this community (I will not reveal the person’s identity - yet) and I am seeking advice from the members here as to what course of action I should take

The story goes like this:

I am a video editor, and was given 4 VHS videotapes by a client in mid 2018, which contained footage of a sporting event from the 1980s that my client and his brother participated in

The client’s request was that I convert the VHS footage into a digital format, and do whatever I could to make it look and sound better, including editing some parts out and adding titles and credits

I have access to some high end VHS players and so I digitised the tapes myself

I believe the result was as good as could be expected, however these tapes were in poor condition and suffered all the usual VHS problems, some of which I could address and others which I believed an expert might have better luck with

My research revealed a particular person who runs a business digitising video tapes, and who seemed to have quite a reputation as the ‘go-to’ person for advanced restoration as well

After some email correspondence between myself and the person in question we worked out (with my client's blessing of course) that the best way forward might be for him to try and recapture the tapes himself, and so in November 2018 I posted a 1TB HDD and the 4 VHS tapes to him

He asked for payment up front, and I paid the full amount immediately

Fast forward to December 2019, and I still have nothing back yet

There are almost 200 emails that have been sent now - the large majority by me - asking for delivery dates…begging in some instances…for him to deliver the files and/or to post the tapes and the files back to me