VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Evening;

This is my first post, yup I'm a noob. I have many MKV files that I'd like to convert to Xvid....I think. I'm trying to save disc space and right now the MKV video files are the same size as the DVD (just over 7Gb each). What open source conversion software is recommended? I'm unfamiliar w/ "conversion software" and after trying (I'd say those programs tried me) a number of programs "out there" (off the net) I realized I need some help. I want an open source program that does NOT leave a watermark nor has time/size limitations. I've looked at a number of "converters", and, so far, the ones I've looked at have all had undesirable traits.

Thank You;

Rick
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Why xVID ? That is a low-quality/yesterday codec.

You can still compress a 2-hour film down to appr. 1 gb and have reasonable visual quality. A little more work than these one-click converters but it's worth the effort.

Try handbrake or avidemux for starters.
    Quote Quote  
  3. RE: DB83

To answer your question: Want/need to convert MKV to "smaller" size (less than 7+ Gb) So, if you have a method or program that would accomplish "compressing" the MKV file (or DVD) down to a smaller size file with reasonable quality, I'm willing to listen.

Rick
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Handbrake 9.5 was the last to support Xvid in an AVI. There's also Megui that supports Xvid in AVI, you just have to update Megui inside the program to download xvid.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Rixter View Post
    RE: DB83

To answer your question: Want/need to convert MKV to "smaller" size (less than 7+ Gb) So, if you have a method or program that would accomplish "compressing" the MKV file (or DVD) down to a smaller size file with reasonable quality, I'm willing to listen.

Rick
    Well I already suggested two and you will now read that xVID is not supported in later versions.