VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, total newbie here with limited experience. Is it possible to tell if a video has a codec that is not compatible with my TV? Up until about 2 years ago, almost all MKV files would play, but since then there is an ever increasing quantity that won't play due to Video Codec not compatible
    I get that the H.265 won't play, but I am having a lot of h.264 files which don't play.
    I have updated the software on the TV (Samsung... but maybe 5 years old).
    I have MediaInfo installed, but I don't see differences between the good and bad, but maybe I am looking at the wrong stuff. Appreciation of any insights in advance.
    I have Handbrake, but the conversions take forever and chew up my limited resources on an old computer, so spotting them before they get to the TV would be a big help. She who must be obeyed takes delight in letting me know my limitations in the cinema room....TT
    Last edited by ttkooau; 12th Nov 2019 at 16:10. Reason: extra info
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    get a streaming media device to plug into your tv like a chromecast, firestick, roku, anything. then you can install a player like vlc on it that will play anything shared on your local network over wifi.

tv sets almost never like mkv files. mp4 is more to their liking as it's the audio in mkvs that usually can't be played by a tv alone.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    @aedipuss.

Thanks for that, it's a good thought. It would save all of the hassle. Cheers TT
    Quote Quote  
  4. Check your TV's manual to see what h.264 Profile and Level are supported (Format Profile in MediaInfo). You'll probably see something like Main@3.2 or High@4.1. That is supposed to be indicate the properties of the video (settings used to create it, limits on certain features):

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/H.264#Profiles