VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, I'm a newbie today, so please be gentle. I'm a long-time Windows Movie Maker user due to its ease of use and my comfort with it. I've made hundreds of projects/videos. It does what I need with no fuss. My videos are even used in museum kiosks and look great. I've tried plenty of other video editors, but always come back to Movie Maker. Pity me.

Even though it has been discontinued by Microsoft I have successfully installed the last version of WMM (2014) on my brand new i7 HP Spectre (1TB SSD; 16 gig RAM with 32 gig Optane Memory). It works fine.

I'm not a great Windows 10 expert, so here's my problem. How to I transfer my Windows 10 Video Project Folder to my new computer KEEPING the project files intact for all of my projects in progress? The old computer address to my videos looks like this: C:\User\1FLLap\Videos\Projects. The new computer address is: C:\User\aafra\Videos\Projects. Obviously I changed my User Name on the new computer.

When I open the projects on the new computer all of my files (titles, videos, audio and photos) are still in the folders, HOWEVER, the edited bits of the video and audio segments are missing. I gather this is because of the change in their address location on the new computer.

HEEEEEEEEEEEELP!
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks. Yes, actually, I did find that link before I posted here. Not sure I understand it, though.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Oh man, Moviemaker ... we still have a few MovieMaker installs around here (I work for university tech support), but really it's an exercise in support frustration.

Well, anyway, if you're gonna keep using it you are going to have to bite the bullet and start learning tech support the hard way, as you're gonna have to be your own tech support person when it comes to MovieMaker.