VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2
FirstFirst 1 2
Results 31 to 57 of 57
Thread
  1. Everything I say is false koberulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    So is Premiere doing the same thing then? Because Premiere is giving me the same results as VDub in those screen captures.

    And whatever the case is...how do I get it into Premiere correctly?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Try the same solution that works for VirtualDub: ConvertToYUY(interlaced=true).
    Quote Quote  
  3. Everything I say is false koberulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    So output that as a lossless AVI?
    Quote Quote  
  4. Use any method that works getting a AVS script to Premiere.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Everything I say is false koberulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    None of them ever have for me.
    Quote Quote  
  6. You just listed one of them (via an AVI file). Another that will probably work is Avisynth Virtual File System.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Everything I say is false koberulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    An AVI file doesn't get the script into Premiere, just the result of it...I assumed from your phrasing you were referring to AVFS and the like. I've tried a few different things people suggested on here a while back when I asked, but I couldn't get any of them to work.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Everything I say is false koberulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Well this is interesting. I have no idea which is correct.

    Original TS file:
    Click image for larger version

Name:	TS.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	557.2 KB
ID:	50524

    Lossless AVI file:
    Click image for larger version

Name:	AVI.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	512.3 KB
ID:	50523
    Quote Quote  
  9. The video is flagged as BT.709. The first image (TS.jpg) is correct. The second image (AVI.jpg) is using a BT.601 matrix instead. Tell your editor the video is BT.709 (aka rec.709). Note that AVI doesn't flag the matrix. Your editor is just guessing and getting it wrong.
    Last edited by jagabo; 13th Oct 2019 at 18:35.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Everything I say is false koberulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Premiere doesn't have an option for that...

    And Ut is supposed to flag it, isn't it? Thus the different 709 and 601 options.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Most programs don't read the UT fourcc. They just convert it to RGB with default (601 for older versions of PP), not even treating it as YUV .

    The other option to RGB interlaced with 709 properly and use UT RGB to import into PP. Interpret footage as interlaced in PP

    (Or use newer version of PP)
    Quote Quote  
  12. Everything I say is false koberulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Converted to RGB as part of the AviSynth script, output as RGB Ut, loaded into Premiere...looks exactly the same as the YUY2 version did, completely different to the TS file.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Did you specify rec709 when you converted to RGB?

    Code:
    ConvertToRGB(matrix="rec709")
    The default in AviSynth is rec601.
    Last edited by jagabo; 14th Oct 2019 at 08:03.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Everything I say is false koberulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Ah. That'll be it then.
    Quote Quote  
  15. don't forget interlaced=true switch

    ConvertToRGB(matrix="rec709", interlaced=true)

    If you have highlights or overbrights in the source that you want to salvage or use, you should bring them down before the RGB conversion or they will get clipped

    But they were probably transmitted "broadcast legal" so you're probably ok.

    EDIT: Your samples looks clipped already, probably by something upstream in the broadcast
    Last edited by poisondeathray; 14th Oct 2019 at 11:36.
    Quote Quote  
  16. Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
    don't forget interlaced=true switch

    ConvertToRGB(matrix="rec709", interlaced=true)
    Oh, yes. I forgot to include that. If you don't include that you will be back to your original problem with screwed up chroma channels.
    Quote Quote  
  17. Everything I say is false koberulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Yeah, I already had that in there.
    Quote Quote  
  18. Everything I say is false koberulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Seems to be working but scrubbing is still super slow. I can at least play it back normal speed, but trying to scrub through to find commercial breaks isn't as fast as it usually is.
    Quote Quote  
  19. Originally Posted by koberulz View Post
    Seems to be working but scrubbing is still super slow. I can at least play it back normal speed, but trying to scrub through to find commercial breaks isn't as fast as it usually is.
    RGB is typically slower to decode, and more data than YUV 4:2:0 or 4:2:2. Newer UT versions have slightly improved RGB speeds.

    The graphs should give you a rough idea;
    http://umezawa.dyndns.info/wordpress/?p=7172
    http://umezawa.dyndns.info/wordpress/?p=7266
    Quote Quote  
  20. Everything I say is false koberulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    So when it comes time to output these, I guess it's RGB Ut out from Premiere? And then convert to YV12 in the AviSynth script I use with MeGUI, specifying rec709?
    Quote Quote  
  21. Originally Posted by koberulz View Post
    So when it comes time to output these, I guess it's RGB Ut out from Premiere? And then convert to YV12 in the AviSynth script I use with MeGUI, specifying rec709?
    Yes, and interlaced=true

    Or voukoder directly out of PP - but you'd have to verify if it's doing it correctly. I know it does RGB=>709 progressive correctly, not sure if interlaced is done correctly
    Quote Quote  
  22. Everything I say is false koberulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Well this is weird. I had this in my script already, from the Intensity Shuttle workflow:
    Code:
    ConvertToYV12(interlaced=true,matrix="rec.709"
    It failed due to an unknown matrix, because it doesn't use the period. Why has it always worked previously?
    Quote Quote  
  23. ConvertToYV12() etc. has never worked with the dot for me. Maybe you're thinking of ColorMatrix() which requires the dot. ColorMatrix(mode="rec.601->rec.709")
    Quote Quote  
  24. Everything I say is false koberulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    No, I literally reused the exact same script file. Didn't touch that line until it threw the error.
    Quote Quote  
  25. Everything I say is false koberulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    I have another TS file. Same box, same channel. Flagged as TFF but appears to be BFF. WTF?
    Quote Quote  
  26. Everything I say is false koberulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    How much does field order matter? If I convert to RGB UtVideo AVI treating it as TFF, load it into Premiere as TFF, export from Premiere as TFF RGB UtVideo, and then flag as BFF in MeGUI will that be sufficient? Just trying to figure out how much I have to redo.
    Quote Quote  
  27. It depends on what you are doing at each step. There are potential problems with any kind of temporal filtering. Non-temporal filtering shouldn't be an issue as long as the video is treated as interlaced.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads