VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    I get error on Startup of Win10 system "Exception at UpdateWriteLog0 hexadecimal value 0x00, is an invalid character Line 1 Position 1" and option to click OK. I click OK and PC continues to boot normally. Searches I did found results for this error when running some program, but I found no results for the error at startup. Does anyone know the cause or a fix for this problem?
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    The program that gives you the error is the one starting on boot up,look in taskbar/startup and the startup folder to see the program and see which one gives you the error when you try and start it up.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  3. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    you can turn off startup programs until you find the bad one. run the msconfig program/start tab/ and turn off any you think might have been added recently and/or causing the issue.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  4. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    Msconfig doesn't have the startup tab in windows 10,it's in bottom taskbar/task manager/startup.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member valvehead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Autoruns is a better tool for locating and enabling/disabling startups.
    valvehead//
    Quote Quote  
  6. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    good god johns0. you run win10??? i'm all in linux when win7 support dies.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  7. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    I've customized windows 10 so it's more like winxp/win7,I disabled the ribbon display,disabled auto arrange,installed open-shell to get back the start button and regular menu layout.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  8. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    and it lets you install any software from anywhere and run any program you want?
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  9. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    Yup.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  10. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    nice to know. i was lead to believe otherwise. i'm on the dark web a bit...
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    If a startup program is causing the error, I assume that program is likely not starting and that it should cause no problem other than the program not running. Is this correct? Also can the program be started after Windows is loaded if it's not started on startup?
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by bevills1 View Post
    If a startup program is causing the error, I assume that program is likely not starting and that it should cause no problem other than the program not running. Is this correct? Also can the program be started after Windows is loaded if it's not started on startup?
    try restoring your computer back to an earlier time and see if you still get the error.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Anything in Event Viewer, either under "Application" or "System" ? (Don't know where to find it in Windows 10.)
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads