VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hello everyone!

I make Youtube videos. I'm a beginner filmmaker.

Recently, I read some articles and some posts on the internet that suggests that if you're using a camera that uses H.264/MPEG-4 AVC, and you're making videos for commercial gain, then you have to pay royalties to MPEG-LA (or you have to get licenses - I didn't completely get that).

I read the license files that these posts/articles mentioned and it has something to say about using the software for personal and non-commercial uses only.

Does anyone have knowledge about these things? Maybe I'm not understanding it correctly.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Everything you upload to youtube is reencoded by youtube. Nobody will know you uploaded an h.264 video. In any case youtube's h.264 license probably covers you.

https://www.engadget.com/2010/05/04/know-your-rights-h-264-patent-licensing-and-you/

If you are selling h.264 videos directly to users you may need a license.
    Last edited by jagabo; 27th Aug 2019 at 09:37.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Originally Posted by Khan1998 View Post
    Hello everyone!

I make Youtube videos. I'm a beginner filmmaker.

Recently, I read some articles and some posts on the internet that suggests that if you're using a camera that uses H.264/MPEG-4 AVC, and you're making videos for commercial gain, then you have to pay royalties to MPEG-LA (or you have to get licenses - I didn't completely get that).

I read the license files that these posts/articles mentioned and it has something to say about using the software for personal and non-commercial uses only.

Does anyone have knowledge about these things? Maybe I'm not understanding it correctly.