VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    Hi everyone

Currently trying to learn some skills in VHS restoration but I'm a little new to it. I am currently using Virtualdub2 using multiple filters as explained below.

My setup is as follows.

Panasonic NV-HS830 SVHS > S-video > Panasonic DMR-ES10 (NR Off) > Component > Topfield TRF-2400.

I have attached the Raw capture from the Topfield and my own edit in virtualdub using the following filters:
    a. Deinterlace
    b. HSV Adjust (Saturation increase to 130%)
    c. Smoother (4 points, just a fraction to remove grain)
    d. Sharpener (Slight increase)
    e. Brightness/Contract (Contrast slight increase)

Fault/Limitation Acknowledgments

Listing these honestly as they may be causing quality issues too.

a. High quality composite cables instead of proper component (Still waiting for my cables to come in mail)
    b. Topfield 2400 to record (Still deciding on best capture device for Windows 10)
    c. Mid range SVHS Player
    d. Video recorded in 1996 from free to air television.
    e. I have not cleaned the VHS tape yet.

What I'm hoping to get

Obviously the best quality picture possible. I'd like some constructive criticism on my noobish work and how I can improve it using virtualdub. I have no idea how to use Avisynth.

I think my edit turned out good but I think the yellow should be a little stronger and green a little lighter but not sure how to achieve both.

Your constructive feedback is welcome please

Raw 'capture' - https://mega.nz/#!f5kW1AQT!7OhJ_T4PUlGU9tTf3WxcVK4j2hryKJosG4_kptTvBjg
    VD Edit - https://mega.nz/#!ugkyRQCB!ts3AaThwA61sM8jeQqBgD7qRiuUFuTk7BPn5Zd58HF8

PS. Cricket fans may be aware this video is from the Cricket World Cup 1996.
    Last edited by geordie10; 18th Jul 2019 at 07:04. Reason: Update
    Quote Quote