VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi All,

Apologies first of all I am a complete newbie to the world of 3D.

I have a file which is half SBS .264 and I would like to burn this to a disc if possible (I know it's easier to play it as a .mkv file but I prefer physical). This isn't a commercially available file, it's not something someone ripped to Half SBS, it was made like that.

From what I can see official 3D blu rays are MVC encoded, with AVC, MVC and SSIF, and I don't have access to a blu ray authoring program that accepts those.

My question is can I just burn this .264 file the same way I would a normal blu ray and just press the 3D button on my remote when playing it? Or does it have to be re-encoded to MVC and authored that way (in which case I'll just give up now!).

Thanks
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    H264/AVC original standard is 2D, MVC is one of the 3D extensions to it.

1/2sbs, etc is what is known as "frame-compatible" type of 3d, which means it is a type of 3d that fits being stored & transmitted AS 2d, and needs to be interpreted as 3d (often manually) in order to re-adjust to a 3d display system.
    However, that type is inherently compromised by the 2d bandwidth, so it will have 1/2 the resolution in the X dimension (and also, therefore, 1/2 the res in the Z dimension).
    Trying to re-encode to MVC (a type known as Service-compatible 3d), even if successful, will have at least 2 additional quality problems.

1. One more generation down with a lossy encoder, so more artifacts (losses)
    2. More losses due to resizing back to non-squeezed versions (and you don't get back true detail, since it was thrown away already).

All that JUST to make it a legit, official style "Bluray3D" that can be played in any bd3d player device or app and have it AUTOMATICALLY turn on 3d.