VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Alright, So I figured I'd come to the experts on this one. Wasn't sure where to put this, as I guess it's technically a video question too, but this seemed more fitting.

I'm trying to take a foreign dubbed video, and mux in an english audio track. I'm by no means an expert, but I have some experience with muxing/syncing, but can't figure this one out. I assume this has something to do with the audio/video possibly being sped up or slowed down, and a ntsc vs pal issue, but not positive.

Video 1 - 59.940 FPS - 48.0 Khz
    Video 2 - 23.976 FPS - 44.1 Khz

I've tried a few different methods. I've converted the audio frequency of video 2, to match video one, but that didn't do it. I also converted the video 1 fps, to match video 2, but no luck. Essentially what happens is, I sync up the audio, and it seems to be synced for about 10 seconds or so, and then it loses sync (this is while i'm working on it using avidemux).

I work with a few different tools when I mux audio; avidemux, mkvtoolnix, and audacity. I've ran into this problem before, but never looked into it, so I figured I'd ask this time.

I'm wondering if there's any way to correct this, and if not, does anybody know of a better method to splice the files in 10 second increments and merge them? avidemux often has issues with precise cuts, and relies on keyframes most of the time, and that wouldn't work out.

Thanks!
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    You say you've done this before, yet you have not mentioned one of the most the most important things:
    the running time of the original and the running time of the new audio
    Quote Quote  
  3. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    If the other audio has different scene changes in timing then the other video/audio then it's not going to be easy to fix since you will need to edit sections that are around 6-10 minutes throughout the video.