VideoHelp Forum


Try DVDFab Video Downloader and rip Netflix video! Or Try DVDFab and copy Blu-rays! or rip iTunes movies!
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 19 of 19
Thread
  1. As the title says is there a way I can remove all subtitles in 1 goninstead of doing it one at a time. I'm not good at using command lines I don't really understand it to be honest. Thanks
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member stax76's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    On thin ice
    Search PM
    StaxRip can probably do it but why not just keep the subtitles?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Because I don't wanna mess a round turning them off everytime I want to watch an episode
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member stax76's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    On thin ice
    Search PM
    Your player should have an option to disable subtitles by default, which player do you use?
    Quote Quote  
  5. Yeah I'm using plex but I need subtitles to be enabled for foreign films and don't wanna mess around keep enabling and disabling them
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member stax76's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    On thin ice
    Search PM
    staxrip is much likely able to do it but it is a very complex task and staxrip is a very powerful app with many advanced features.

    It is not easy to find out which settings you need if you are new to staxrip.

    Command line scripting would much likely be even more difficult.

    I still believe it's always better to keep the subtitles, maybe plex has a usability problem or you don't know how to use it properly?
    Quote Quote  
  7. Never mind I'll have to remove them individually.. Thanks
    Quote Quote  
  8. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    Mkvbatch will remove all the subtitles in one go.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  9. I did try that but I kept getting an error when trying to run the program
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member stax76's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    On thin ice
    Search PM
    in staxrip you would set:

    set video source filter to DSS2 in order to not waste time for indexing, requires DS filters to be present
    set video track to mux/copy
    set audio tracks to mux/copy
    set first audio language in audio config to your primary language
    set second audio language in audio config to your secondary language
    in the project options clear preferred subtitle languages

    that would hopefully work, a advanced and complex task requires advanced knowledge...
    Quote Quote  
  11. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    What error were you getting in mkvbatch?Might be in the settings or missing a file.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  12. MKVToolNix 19.0.0 is the last version compatible with MKVBatch.

    Though batching "by hand" isn't that complicated:
    Code:
    for %%a in (*.mkv) do mkvmerge -o "output\%%~a" --no-subtitles "%%~a"
    You could also try to disable the tracks instead of removing them. It is very fast (in-place) and you can re-enable them at a later time. I don't know if Plex obeys this flag, though. There's even a GUI (jmkvpropedit).
    Image
    [Attachment 49352 - Click to enlarge]
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member lordhutt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    This is something I've been wanting to know how to do for a long time.
    I have MKVToolNix v42.
    I have a directory of files that have about a dozen sub-titles for each. I want to remove all except the English subs.

    I'm not even sure how to start on the adding or appending files popup
    Do I select
    'add as new source files to the current multiplex settings'

    After this I'm even more lost

    Can this even be done this was using the GUI?
    Quote Quote  
  14. With mkvtoolnixGUI: you just open the mkv (drag and drop one file at a time) and manually unselect the subs you don't want to keep and then remux (Start multiplexing).
    You want to be make sure you've removed the right subs: check the output before deleting the source file.

    It may be possible to do this with a batch script.
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member lordhutt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by butterw View Post
    With mkvtoolnixGUI: you just open the mkv (drag and drop one file at a time) and manually unselect the subs you don't want to keep and then remux (Start multiplexing).
    You want to be make sure you've removed the right subs: check the output before deleting the source file.

    It may be possible to do this with a batch script.
    Hey... sorry, I should have been more specific. I know how to do it manually... I do it with single files on a regular basic.
    But for this particular situation I may have a couple hundred to do it with... each with about a dozen subs each.
    I was hoping there was a more automatic way... keeping only the English ones.
    Quote Quote  
  16. Originally Posted by lordhutt View Post
    I'm not even sure how to start on the adding or appending files popup
    Do I select
    'add as new source files to the current multiplex settings'
    No. That's the setting for combining files, e.g. you want to combine video from file 1 with audio from file 2.


    Maybe you want something like this:
    1. Preferences>Multiplexer>When dropping files>Create one new ... for each file
    2. Preferences>Multiplexer>Destination file name. Set an output directory. (optional)
    3. Preferences>Multiplexer>enabling items. Tick "only enable copying ...". Then in the bottom move English from the left to the right field.
    4. Drag&Drop all your mkv files
    5. Multiplexer>Actions for all tabs> Start multiplexing


    Or with CLI:
    Code:
    for %%a in (*.mkv) do mkvmerge -o "output\%%~a" --subtitle-tracks eng "%%~a"
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member lordhutt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by sneaker View Post


    Maybe you want something like this:
    1. Preferences>Multiplexer>When dropping files>Create one new ... for each file
    2. Preferences>Multiplexer>Destination file name. Set an output directory. (optional)
    3. Preferences>Multiplexer>enabling items. Tick "only enable copying ...". Then in the bottom move English from the left to the right field.
    4. Drag&Drop all your mkv files
    5. Multiplexer>Actions for all tabs> Start multiplexing
    Definitely seemed like that would work but when dragging over a couple test files... everything is still selected.

    Image
    [Attachment 56016 - Click to enlarge]

    Image
    [Attachment 56017 - Click to enlarge]
    Quote Quote  
  18. You ticked the wrong options. Should be e.g.:
    [x] Video [ ] Audio [ ] Subtitles

    An "[x]" means to ALWAYS copy, ingoring the language selection below.
    Quote Quote  
  19. Member lordhutt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by sneaker View Post
    You ticked the wrong options. Should be e.g.:
    [x] Video [ ] Audio [ ] Subtitles

    An "[x]" means to ALWAYS copy, ingoring the language selection below.
    Haha, yep, that got her!!
    A million thank yous. Like I said... I've wanted to know how to do this for a long time.

    Take care, and thanks again!!
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads