VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi,

Apologies for these basic questions, but I am a newbie. I have spent the past hour searching this forum and googling and haven't gotten a clear answer.

I have 50 or so mini-dv tapes filled with precious family memories, recorded on a Sony Mini DV tape recorder. The recorder is still in good working condition. We have new TVs in the house which don't have the traditional RCA cable inputs (red, yellow, white female). Plenty of HDMI connections, but no RCA. How can I hook up my Sony recorder to play on my TV. Is there an HDMI cable I can use to connect the player to the TV?

And finally, it gives me great anxiety that these tapes are obsolete technology. I would like to at some point transition them to my PC where they can be accessed easier. Is this practical? As I understand it, these tapes are ~ 13GB each. That's 650GB for 50 tapes! What approach do you experts take in converting Mini DV to computer?

Many, many thanks,
    Doug
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by doug1022 View Post
    I have 50 or so mini-dv tapes filled with precious family memories, recorded on a Sony Mini DV tape recorder. The recorder is still in good working condition. We have new TVs in the house which don't have the traditional RCA cable inputs (red, yellow, white female). Plenty of HDMI connections, but no RCA. How can I hook up my Sony recorder to play on my TV. Is there an HDMI cable I can use to connect the player to the TV?
    You could try something like these to connect your DV recorder to the TV:
    https://www.amazon.com/GANA-Composite-Converter-Adapter-Supporting/dp/B01L8GG6PW/
    https://www.amazon.com/Orei-XD-940-S-Video-Multi-System-Converter/dp/B01AWN6JUY/
    https://www.amazon.com/gofanco-Prophecy-Format-Scaler-Converter/dp/B07FMCW625/

Originally Posted by doug1022 View Post