VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    I have a fair size collection of DVDs I would like to load onto a NAS drive but am not sure what the best program would be to use. I tried Handbrake but simply don't know what all of the settings should be. I have also tied Aimersoft and although it seems straightforward the output isn't always as expected. I also have fairly significant collection of video on my NAS drive now but bought a new Samsung 75" TV at Christmas time and it doesn't play the AVI files I have (at least not he codec they are) and my collection is about 90% AVI so need to convert them as well. One of the reasons I chose Samsung was that the Samsung this one was replacing played almost every format I tried but for some reason Samsung seems to have dropped the fairly wide array of formats it used to support.

    From the reading I have done it would seem converting to MP4 or MKV and x264 codec maintains a high quality and is one of the formats/codec that is compatible with a pretty significant number of devices, however am open to other suggestions if that is not the case.

    In most cases I would simply like to convert the AVI to MP4 and keep the same resolution and bitrate etc but often when using Aimersoft that isn't what happens. If they had a "keep all specs the same" setting that would be great but they don't. I select an input file and it shows the output size and often it is two or three times larger and sometimes it is half the size so it would seem something is being changed. You can go to the settings and most are set to auto and of course you can set specific values for each of the settings but again would simply like to maintain the same settings as the original video.

    Other unexpected issues with the video that is output is sometimes a 16:9 video that used to fill the entire screen on a 16:9 TV now has a black bar top and bottom. Obviously when you convert an older 4:3 video I expect to have black bars down each side but when converting a 16:9 would expect it to fill the entire screen rather than having black bars top and bottom. I also get some video that has a black border around the entire video. I am assuming it requires some change to the resolution in order to eliminate the back border or black bars but am not sure what the settings should be as I have some video in 480 that fills the entire screen and some in 1080 that has black bars top and bottom. I assume it is the ratio of height to width that will eliminate the black borders but would appreciate knowing that the resolution should be set to.

    The DVDs I want to load onto the NAS drive are a mixture of camcorder video, DVDs made from recordings on a DVD recorder and commercial DVDs so again would assume whatever settings I would use in converting my AVI files would be suitable for ripping the DVDs as well.

    What would be ideal at least for the AVI conversions would be a simple program that does a straight conversion and keeps the original bitrate resolution etc without the need to make any settings and where I can select say a hundred files at a time and let it convert them.

    Thank you
    Last edited by jackdup; 20th Apr 2019 at 22:43.
    Quote Quote  
  2. If you can live with MKV files the easiest thing for you to do is use MakeMKV. It simply remuxes the DVD contents into an MKV file. It doesn't reencode anything so there are no choices to make and it's very fast. The files will be about the same size as your DVDs but there's no quality loss (and no quality gain either).
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    If you can live with MKV files the easiest thing for you to do is use MakeMKV. It simply remuxes the DVD contents into an MKV file. It doesn't reencode anything so there are no choices to make and it's very fast. The files will be about the same size as your DVDs but there's no quality loss (and no quality gain either).
    That sounds exactly what am looking for at least for the AVI conversions but would prefer something that converts to MP4 as some of the video playback controls on the TV don't work on MKVs like they do on MP4 but maybe I will download it and try it.

    Thanks for the suggestion
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    For mp4, use Handbrake and try the Fast480p30 preset. It seems to set itself up pretty well
    in terms of the defaults (fast preset, CRF 20, and cropping as necessary)
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by davexnet View Post
    For mp4, use Handbrake and try the Fast480p30 preset. It seems to set itself up pretty well
    in terms of the defaults (fast preset, CRF 20, and cropping as necessary)
    Does the 480p in the preset mean it will convert to a resolution of 480? Some of the video I have is in 480 but I have a fair amount in 1080p as well and wouldn't want to convert those to 480p.

    Any suggestions on the settings I would need to convert video that has a black border around the entire video to fill the screen or the convertor to use?
    Thank you
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Memphis TN, US
    Search PM
    What AVI's and 1080p's are you talking about? Didn't you say you were working with DVD?
    - My sister Ann's brother
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    In your first post you only mentioned DVD's which, of course, is SD 720x480

    Regarding the border, look at the dimensions tab/cropping and see if it detected anything.
    see this image, you can see the source dvd @ 720x480, the encoded resolution 720x272
    and output (display size) 640x272

    If you have HD source choose one of the HD profiles
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	hb.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	108.0 KB
ID:	48768  

    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    PAPUA NEW GUINEA
    Search Comp PM
    I am new to this site, so forgive me if I am not posting correctly.
    I have an MP4 with existing soft subtitles. I want to embed (burn) the existing subtitles into the MP4. I do not want to embed an external .srt file as this will introduce two subtitles. I have tried this and two subtitles can be observed - one slightly offset from the other. All I want to do is burn in the existing subtitles in the MP4. Can anyone help ?
    Quote Quote  
  9. Originally Posted by AM1202 View Post
    I am new to this site, so forgive me if I am not posting correctly.
    You're forgiven, but you're still posting incorrectly - into another thread not the least bit related to your question. Start your own thread and reword your question as it makes no sense as it is now.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads