VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    sarajevo
    Search Comp PM
    Well, this is the problem.

    Image
    [Attachment 48613 - Click to enlarge]
    Quote Quote  
  2. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    possibly the file didn't get the mov atoms written. without the file descriptors nothing can use it. one of those pay to repair sites might work since you have other working files from the cam. don't know if they can handle 6.5gb files though.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    sarajevo
    Search Comp PM
    Which one is my best bet?
    I tried the free ones but they restore a couple of frames at the beginning of the video and that's it.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    If it just the moov atom, it's possible the untrunc program that runs in Linux could help.
    I know enough Linux that I was able to install and getting it working; it sits in a folder on my desktop.
    I'm wondering if it's self contained. Perhaps I can make it available if it's small enough.
    Do you have a Linux desktop you can use?

    It seems odd that the camera would allow you to do this. Is it a fault with the camera?
    (I know this doesn't help, I'm just thinking out loud)

    Here it is, put it on your desktop and try it. For instructions see the "using" paragraph
    https://github.com/ponchio/untrunc
    Image Attached Files
    • File Type: 7z ut.7z (18.06 MB, 12 views)
    Last edited by davexnet; 9th Apr 2019 at 19:00.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    sarajevo
    Search Comp PM
    Thank you so much for your reply.

    Unfortunately i don't have a linux OS, i'm working on windows 10.

    I'll try to find an alternative solution.

    The camera is not broken, i stopped her when she was formatting, by mistake of course.
    Quote Quote  
  6. After first copying the contents of the card to your computer -- place the card back in the camera and try using the "Recover Image DB" function on the camera. It's designed for just this kind of situation and usually works.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    sarajevo
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks a lot @smrpix, i'll try that!
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads