VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 16 of 16
Thread

Threaded View

  1. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Berkeley, California
    Search Comp PM
    Hi,

    I am a newbie and new to this site, so please forgive my ignorance. I just scanned with a Wolverine MovieMaker Pro some old super 8mm films. They were taken at 18fps. I would like to telecine to 30fps for burning a DVD. I understand that Mencoder can do that job but I need some help in setting up the command line.

    Many thanks in advance.

    Daniel
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Berkeley, California
    Search Comp PM
    I went through that manual page and at the bottom it gives some examples but not for what I want to do. I would like to get a recipe, likely from someone who has done this kind of work.

    Thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  3. You can't telecine directly to 29.97fps from 18fps. You can only telecine to a max 150% of the original framerate (27fps in your case). You have to bring the framerate up to a minimum of 19.98fps before applying a telecine. That can be done in a number of ways. Retail DVDs usually create duplicate frames. You can speed it up to 19.98fps. You can interpolate up to 19.98fps.

    I would like to get a recipe, likely from someone who has done this kind of work.
    I have, many times. All this is easy enough when using AviSynth. I have no idea about mencoder.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Berkeley, California
    Search Comp PM
    So can I telecine first to 19.98fps and then to 29.97fps?
    Quote Quote  
  5. Originally Posted by danielsender View Post
    So can I telecine first to 19.98fps and then to 29.97fps?
    No. You have to first get it to progressive 19.98fps. You could do that with duplicate frames as the media companies do with silent films, but I wouldn't. I usually interpolate up to 19.98fps (roughly 2 additional frames per second) before then applying telecine. I don't use mencoder and don't believe you can do the telecining in it as it's not the standard 3:2 pulldown. It's 3:3 pulldown. You'd need DGPulldown to do that, available only for Windows and Mac machines (I believe, but don't hold me to that). If you're in Linux, you don't have access to all the video tools available for PC users on Windows.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Yes AVStoDVD gives you a choice of insert/drop (Changefps), blend (Convertfps) and motion compensation/interpolation (MCJMFPS)
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Berkeley, California
    Search Comp PM
    I just installed AvsToDVD, so how do I go about my project?
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by danielsender View Post
    I just installed AvsToDVD, so how do I go about my project?
    start it up and open the preferences. On the Avisynth tab you'll see "hard frame rate conversion"
    set to your choice as described above. On the video tab choose NTSC as the video standard - it's all
    pretty much self explanatory. Save current preferences as default and OK out.

    Drag your source into the window. Hit the little down arrow to the right of the Output button
    and you can choose your output type. Do not choose muxed mpeg file unless your source has audio.
    Hit start. The output and the project log will be in the "DVD Output" folder as per the preferences
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Berkeley, California
    Search Comp PM
    You gave me an excellent guide. I see a DVD structure done but I'm puzzled because the VTS_01_1.VOB has about the same size as the mp4 file at 18fps, shouldn't be bigger based on having interpolated frames?

    Thanks
    Quote Quote  
  10. Originally Posted by danielsender View Post
    ...shouldn't be bigger based on having interpolated frames?
    No. Output file size has no relation at all to the input file size. It's entirely dependent on the bitrate assigned to it. If the bitrates of the two are similar (and thus similar sizes), it's purely coincidence unless there's a way to make the two the same within the program. As I mentioned earlier, I don't use AvsToDVD.

    So, did it do what you wanted?
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads