VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Ignorant Newb
    Search Comp PM
    Bear with me, as I am pretty much a total newbie to video stuff. I'm ripping Futurama from NTSC DVDs I bought forever ago using Handbreak (the only software I know much about atm). I've done a bunch of reading but am probably still making some mistakes. Basically, I set "Detelecine" to Default and Constant Framerate to 23.976 to get rid of telecine issues.

I tried a number of settings for Deinterlace, but kept getting interlaced lines in the video output. I eventually found smart people recommend leaving interlacing in the video for this kind of source, so using H.264 I added ":tff" to Handbrake's "Extra Options". After messing that up a few times, I finally got it so MediaInfo now reports "interlaced=tff" on the output video.

The problem is that now I'm seeing some weird color-interlacing in VLC (as you can see in the included png; there is a red smear where Fry's tongue will be in the next frame), especially in the earlier Futurama episodes (which are apparently kind of famous for being kind of crappy DVDs).

[Attachment 48370 - Click to enlarge]

Questions:
    1) Did I do the right thing to undo the telecine used on this DVD?
    2) What, if anything, can I do to fix the color-smearing? Keep in mind, I barely know what I'm doing w/ video encoding, so try to dumb it down a little if possible.
    2) How can I tell if the DVD is tff or bff interlaced? I'm pretty sure this source is tff, but I'd like to know how to find out for sure.

Thank you!
    Quote Quote  
  2. Originally Posted by Geardan View Post
    1) Did I do the right thing to undo the telecine used on this DVD?
    To handle any difficult sources needing IVTC, use AviSynth.
    2) What, if anything, can I do to fix the color-smearing?
    Interlaced chroma can also be handled in AviSynth. But, if I remember correctly, these Futurama DVDs are very difficult to work on.