VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 28 of 28
Thread
  1. Member budwzr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    City Of Angels
    Search Comp PM
    Chinese bought up all the simple editors like CorelDraw. Beware that if you change computer you will get screwed trying to reinstall. They want you to buy new again.

    They act like they are honoring your previous purchase, but you just go round and round and can never complete the install.

    They bought up CorelDraw, Painter, Word Perfect, PaintShop, VideoStudio, and WinZip. Corel Home page has Chinese characters in upper left corner.

    They also hiked the prices 2X. Went from $50 to $100 now.
    Last edited by budwzr; 10th Mar 2019 at 14:18.
    Quote Quote  
  2. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    LOL i've never had any luck with things like "lifetime" licenses, any time the companies stop making money they sell out and the lifetime license goes poof...

    that one won't bother me, i was never a fan of any of their stuff.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  3. I only looked at the websites for CorelDraw, WinZip and PaintShop Pro, but they still seem to be owned by Corel.
    "Copyright © Corel Corporation" can be found on each page and there doesn't seem to be a shortage of Corel logos. How did you discover they're now owned by a Chinese company?
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member budwzr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    City Of Angels
    Search Comp PM
    Last edited by budwzr; 11th Mar 2019 at 10:31.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    Doesn't show Chinese here. And "About" says their HQ is in Ottawa CA. Maybe you got hacked?

    Scott
    Quote Quote  
  6. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    are you here - https://www.corel.com/en/ - and not redirected somewhere else? no chinese at this end either. there is a dropdown in the upper right to change languages but none look like your image.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by budwzr View Post
    Corel apparently sells software internationally. There are language settings on Corel's website, one of which uses Chinese characters. Perhaps you were directed to the Chinese page by mistake.

    The Chinese language home page could look exactly like your attachment if cropped.
    Last edited by usually_quiet; 11th Mar 2019 at 12:23.
    Ignore list: hello_hello, tried, TechLord
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member budwzr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    City Of Angels
    Search Comp PM
    Yeah, my attachment was cropped from upleft hand corner. Maybe Amazon mistake or International version. I didn't get hacked, I got both firewalls on.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member budwzr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    City Of Angels
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Cornucopia View Post
    Doesn't show Chinese here. And "About" says their HQ is in Ottawa CA. Maybe you got hacked?

    Scott
    Yeah man, you are right. i got hacked. Something called ByteFence. It hijacked my browser. I wonder if Corel knows. I don't know how it got past my firewall. Windows didn't even notice. That thing is really stealthy.

    THANKS MUCH!!!
    Last edited by budwzr; 11th Mar 2019 at 14:39.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Google found a page about removing the Bytefence and its redirects which says the following: "ByteFence is a legitimate anti-malware suite that is occasionally distributed as a 'bundle' with other software."

    In other words, you probably installed Bytefence unknowingly along with some other software that you intentionally installed.
    Ignore list: hello_hello, tried, TechLord
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member budwzr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    City Of Angels
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by usually_quiet View Post
    you probably installed Bytefence unknowingly along with some other software that you intentionally installed.
    Yes, I was reinstalling Corel Paint X9 from a backup stored on Amazon.

    ByteFence hijacked my browser. How can it be legitimate?

    Thanks For Your Help!!
    Last edited by budwzr; 11th Mar 2019 at 17:31.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by budwzr View Post
    Originally Posted by usually_quiet View Post
    you probably installed Bytefence unknowingly along with some other software that you intentionally installed.
    Yes, I was reinstalling Corel Paint X9 from a backup stored on Amazon.

    ByteFence hijacked my browser. How can it be legitimate?

    Thanks For Your Help!!
    I have AVG's free anti-virus software on the laptop I use, which at one point installed a browser toolbar that caused browser redirects, and AVG serves pop-up ads about their other products.
    Ignore list: hello_hello, tried, TechLord
    Quote Quote  
  13. Video Restorer lordsmurf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    dFAQ.us/lordsmurf
    Search Comp PM
    All your base are belong to us.
    Want my help? Ask here! (not via PM!)
    FAQs: Best Blank DiscsBest TBCsBest VCRs for captureRestore VHS
    Quote Quote  
  14. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
    All your base are belong to us.
    LOL arrrrr beeen a lonngg time


    been rick-rolled lately?
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member budwzr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    City Of Angels
    Search Comp PM
    Now Im stuck with Yahoo Search that I cant get rid of. Anybody have this issue? Doesnt uninstall with add/remove Programs Manager.
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Search PM
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by budwzr View Post
    Now Im stuck with Yahoo Search that I cant get rid of. Anybody have this issue? Doesnt uninstall with add/remove Programs Manager.
    Check your browser add-ons and browser settings for the default search-engine.
    Ignore list: hello_hello, tried, TechLord
    Quote Quote  
  18. Member budwzr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    City Of Angels
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by JVRaines View Post
    Thanks for that, but it's not a windows 10 app, its installed as regular Windows program, 64 bit.
    Quote Quote  
  19. Important to know how that toolbar got on your computer. You have to search what installed program contained it in its installer. For the future.
    If you have an unused HDD/SSD swap your windows drive with it install a throwaway windows and install everything you need and check when it got installed. Bad guy found.
    If done swap the drives and use your old windows just like before, but if you are like me, simply delete all partitions on another drive and begin from scratch. Some settings can be reused from folder of program settings, I don‘t know its name right now, it is hidden and it is in the same directory of Downloads Music Videos and Pictures.
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member budwzr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    City Of Angels
    Search Comp PM
    Image
    [Attachment 48467 - Click to enlarge]


    I dont know where that mudder fudder crap came from. All I know is it wont uninstall via Programs and features, but it is listed there.
    Quote Quote  
  21. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    got a good one there. if you miss any piece of the installed malware it will just re-install itself. many anti-yuck programs required to get rid of it all. - https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/virus-removal/remove-yahoo-powered-and-us.search.yaho...com-home-page/
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  22. Member budwzr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    City Of Angels
    Search Comp PM
    Yeah, it's a nasty one. Doesn't seem malicious though, YET!

    I dont recommend this "fix" to anyone. Seems like it just adds more malware.
    Last edited by budwzr; 20th Mar 2019 at 18:08.
    Quote Quote  
  23. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    I use malwarebytes free version to get rid of the nasty stuff other viruses pass over.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  24. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    all the programs that are used can be un-installed after. no easy way to fix what you got. step 8 can be skipped.

    STEP 1: Print out instructions before we begin.
    STEP 2: Use Rkill to terminate suspicious programs.
    STEP 3: Use Malwarebytes AntiMalware to Scan for Malware and Unwanted Programs
    STEP 4: Scan and clean your computer with Zemana AntiMalware.
    STEP 5: Use AdwCleaner to remove adware from a computer.
    STEP 6: Reset browsers back to default settings.
    STEP 7: Use HitmanPro to scan your computer for badware
    STEP 8: Run Secunia PSI to find outdated and vulnerable programs.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  25. Member budwzr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    City Of Angels
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by johns0 View Post
    I use malwarebytes free version to get rid of the nasty stuff other viruses pass over.
    JohnsO, WhooHoo!!!!! That did the trick. Yahoo search GONE from Programs. Thanks Man!!!!

    i wonder if the same person invented the problem, then sells the solution. Its more of a nuisance than a virus.
    Last edited by budwzr; 20th Mar 2019 at 19:13.
    Quote Quote  
  26. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    Glad that fixed your problem,any program that's a nuisance i label a virus cause they act like them.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  27. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by budwzr View Post
    Originally Posted by johns0 View Post
    I use malwarebytes free version to get rid of the nasty stuff other viruses pass over.
    JohnsO, WhooHoo!!!!! That did the trick. Yahoo search GONE from Programs. Thanks Man!!!!

    i wonder if the same person invented the problem, then sells the solution.
    Some third-party software publisher might get paid a small amount of money for bundling it with their free software, but Malwarebytes is unlikely to be behind it.

    Seeing your screenshots jogged my memory. I think that the Yahoo search toolbar was installed on one of my PCs a couple of times.
    Ignore list: hello_hello, tried, TechLord
    Quote Quote  
  28. Member budwzr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    City Of Angels
    Search Comp PM
    I always find good helps over here in VideoEditing dept.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads