VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2
FirstFirst 1 2
Results 31 to 45 of 45
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    Okay, last time

    instant off means inside a OS gives the OS a shutdown command
    The 4 sec delay option always works
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member hech54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Yank in Europe
    Search Comp PM
    I just watched an interesting video where the stand-by button on the PC was faulty.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Europe
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by jan5678 View Post
    Okay, last time

    instant off means inside a OS gives the OS a shutdown command
    The 4 sec delay option always works
    Outside an OS (for example booting without a HDD connected) Instant-Off powers off and then powers on the system again. Is this normal?
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    Outside an OS (for example booting without a HDD connected) Instant-Off powers off and then powers on the system again. Is this normal?
    I don't know.
    It might be how the motherboard manufacturer made it? Or how they made the bios implantation?
    My gigabyte board powers off and stays off in that condition, but requires a few presses on the power button.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Europe
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by jan5678 View Post
    I don't know.
    It might be how the motherboard manufacturer made it? Or how they made the bios implantation?
    My gigabyte board powers off and stays off in that condition, but requires a few presses on the power button.
    I have a gigabyte too. With a few presses on the power button you mean keep the power button pressed for a few seconds or press the power button a few times?
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    no press the power button a few times

    Most of the time it will power off, no guaranty though
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Europe
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by jan5678 View Post
    no press the power button a few times

    Most of the time it will power off, no guaranty though
    This doesn't sound normal to me either.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    I guess it's the way it works

    But i agree with others, if this is a big problem use the power button and hold it for 4 sec.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Europe
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by jan5678 View Post
    I guess it's the way it works

    But i agree with others, if this is a big problem use the power button and hold it for 4 sec.
    Even if I hold the button for 4 sec, there is no warranty that it will power off and stay off. Most probably it will power on again.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    Even if I hold the button for 4 sec, there is no warranty that it will power off and stay off. Most probably it will power on again.
    Okay, that's weird, that shouldn't happen, looks like a bios/motherboard issue.
    I have no idea
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Europe
    Search PM
    I had a similar problem before, but I wasn't expecting to be the same. To test, I switched the cables on the motherboard for the power and the reset buttons. In this way, I can press the reset button to power on/off and the power button to reset. Guess what? Instant-Off now powers off everywhere (for example inside BIOS and while booting) and it does not power on again. What does this prove? Maybe it's the power button after all?
    Last edited by kyrcy; 1st Mar 2019 at 16:58.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    mmm weird but a faulty powerswitch.. could be possible!
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Europe
    Search PM
    At least I know that I was correct and Instant-Off should also always work. This is the second case I bought from the same brand that has a faulty power switch. Never again.
    Last edited by kyrcy; 2nd Mar 2019 at 03:13.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    What is the brand your talking about?
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Europe
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by jan5678 View Post
    What is the brand your talking about?
    Aerocool. I used several computer cases over the years with no problems, but had two from them and both were problematic.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads