VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    Hello everyone,

I'm totally new here, like I'm new in transferring VHS to digital. Will try to make it short. I'm not a professional or something and this was my first attempt to transfer VHS to PC. At first I thought - no problem, I'll just plug in VHS to PC (it has a TV card) and basically everything did worked - there was sound, there was image and I thought that's it. But When I did transferred VHS to PC I found some problems with the image: it seems that whenever VHS camera were shacked a little bit more while filming - it has jumping/jitter problem in my new transferred to PC VHS rip.

Here's how it looks:

While watching the tape on the TV (the cables are the same) it doesn't have such issues. I've tried to do some different configurations, different softwares, but the problem is still the same, so I guess it's not the software or anything else, but probably a hardware.

Anyway, could somebody explain for a newbie why this is happening and how this can be fixed?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Do you have a video clip of this? Still shots aren't much help when discussing video problems.

And welcome to our forums.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search PM
    sorry, here's the short video clip:
    https://forum.videohelp.com/images/imgfiles/TAs7tYf

as you see at first everything's fine, but when the camera starts shacking it has this annoying jumping. on TV everything is OK, without these side effects.
    the other scenes where the camera smoothly moves/zooms also doesn't have that jumping image, it seems that this kind of "jumping" starts whenever the camera was shacked a little bit more
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search PM