VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi, I'm new to AviSynth and to be honest, it's really head-wrecking to try and read all the tutorials and try to apply them to have an undocumented solution =>

1. How to use AviSyth with plugins, that are full of sourcecode files?
    1b. How to use them in VirtualDub2?
    2. Where the plugin files go and what files the plugin needs to work?
    3. What about the sourcecode files, do I need to compile them and how?

All I would need is a simple script to remove duplicate frames (lossless) from a over 5 hours long screen-capture video to make a time-lapse video.

All the more beginner-friendly advises and a simple and accurate example script would be most welcome.
    Quote Quote  
  2. 1. A normal end-user has no use for the source code files, those are only for developers. You only need .dll files.
    1b. Write the AviSynth script and load said script in VirtualDub2. You cannot manage AviSynth plugins in the VirtualDub2 GUI. (In some very rare cases the dll file has both an interface for AviSynth as well as VirtualDub, then you can if you copy it into the VirtualDub plugin folder.)
    2. Usually there is a "plugin" subfolder in the directory where you install AviSynth. Copy the .dll files there for ease-of-use. Alternatively you can put them somewhere else but then need to load them individually via LoadPlugin().
    Some plugins work with just their single dll file. Others may depend on other plugins or things like VC++ redistributables. Often you can find such info via the wiki. With avsmeter you can also search for dependencies.
    3. Only if the package doesn't already come with a compiled dll file.

Originally Posted by pernicio View Post
    All I would need is a simple script to remove duplicate frames (lossless) from a over 5 hours long screen-capture video to make a time-lapse video.
    "lossless"? Why do you need this? I don't understand the process.
    Quote Quote