VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. First of all, I am not a pro in encoding, so please let me know if I did something that does not make sense.

So, this is my problem: I have tried to convert an existing .mp4 video with .ass file into x265 .mkv with Staxrip (to make it smaller), using NVEnc native encoder (CBR mode, see MediaInfo attached).
    No problems with audio/video, but I have problems with the subtitles; I am sure that the original (.ass) file is displayed correctly but, when I use the embedded subs, there are weird characters (see attached screenshot).

I checked the non-Unicode language from the control panel (in Windows 10) that is correctly set to US (the same language of the subs), and I tried to use a different player (I normally use Potplayer). I also tried to convert to x264 instead, but there is the same issue.

Can you please tell me what to do?

Thank you in advance.
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	15.9 KB
ID:	47855  

Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  2. .ass file is Unicode..You have to convert it to western encoding and save as ascii
    Quote Quote  
  3. Originally Posted by teodz1984 View Post
    .ass file is Unicode..You have to convert it to western encoding and save as ascii
    Thank you for the information. Can you please explain me how to do it? Do I have to convert to a different format or I just need to convert them from Unicode to ASCII?

Are there any tools to do that?
    Quote Quote  
  4. All text in Matroska is UTF-8 and usually ASS files are as well. If it is misdetected somehow you could try to manually mux the ass file using MKVToolNix GUI. Drag&drop the ass file, select the new track and on the right side scroll to "Subtitle and chapter properties" and click the "ÅČ" button. Then try the different character sets until the preview is correct, then mux. I'd try "UTF-8" first.