VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 21 of 21
Thread
  1. I just got into video editing not too long ago, I already had a 1060 for games but Sony Vegas 15 hated it.. crashed all the time, terrible previews, so I had to disable it. Stuck with Vegas' default BS. So I bought a 1080 after watching a video showing how great the previews are, etc.

    So I get the thing... and, sure it's better, but.... I'm *still* rendering stuff *just to see what it'll actually look like* over and over again and it's driving me nuts. No matter what it glitches a little at half the splits, FX can be a nightmare, etc etc it's just not what I hoped for. Not like the video I saw. I basically paid $400 to boost rendering times a little I think.

    All I want is crystal clear previewing. This is a decent PC - i7 6700k, 16Gb ddr4.. do I actually need to buy another 1080 for my dreams to come true?

    Is there some magical setting I missed? Can I tweak Vegas a little more?




    btw.. is Premiere WAY better than Vegas, or are they comparable?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Originally Posted by gription View Post
    I just got into video editing not too long ago, I already had a 1060 for games but Sony Vegas 15 hated it.. crashed all the time, terrible previews, so I had to disable it. Stuck with Vegas' default BS. So I bought a 1080 after watching a video showing how great the previews are, etc.

    So I get the thing... and, sure it's better, but.... I'm *still* rendering stuff *just to see what it'll actually look like* over and over again and it's driving me nuts. No matter what it glitches a little at half the splits, FX can be a nightmare, etc etc it's just not what I hoped for. Not like the video I saw. I basically paid $400 to boost rendering times a little I think.

    All I want is crystal clear previewing. This is a decent PC - i7 6700k, 16Gb ddr4.. do I actually need to buy another 1080 for my dreams to come true?

    Is there some magical setting I missed? Can I tweak Vegas a little more?

    I don't understand what you're asking .

    What do you mean exactly by "crystal clear previews" ?

    What types of of media are you dealing with ?






    btw.. is Premiere WAY better than Vegas, or are they comparable?
    pros/cons in different areas
    Quote Quote  
  3. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    i have a 1070 i've used with vegas pro 13, 14, 15, and now 16. i can't say i've ever had any problems or glitches. i run a 2 monitor system with the preview on the second at best/full resolution.

    i never use gpu rendering. i always select cpu only. never had any luck with the gpu helping there in any rendering software, not just vegas.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  4. Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
    I don't understand what you're asking .

    What do you mean exactly by "crystal clear previews" ?

    What types of of media are you dealing with ?
    I don't understand how you're confused. I'm dealing with video, and I desire a preview window that displays a flawless...PREVIEW.. of what I'm making. So I don't have to render *just to see see what it'll actually look like*.

    Originally Posted by aedipuss View Post
    i run a 2 monitor system with the preview on the second at best/full resolution.
    same

    i never use gpu rendering. i always select cpu only. never had any luck with the gpu helping there in any rendering software, not just vegas.
    interesting. so you mean in options>prefs>video you switch it from your $$$ video card to "off"? why buy the thing at all then? and what do you mean exactly by 'cpu only'?
    Quote Quote  
  5. Originally Posted by gription View Post

    I don't understand how you're confused. I'm dealing with video, and I desire a preview window that displays a flawless...PREVIEW.. of what I'm making. So I don't have to render *just to see see what it'll actually look like*.
    Got it, thanks for the clarification

    60 quadros won't make a difference in the "clearness" of a preview. There shouldn't be any difference in a GTX 1060, 1080, or 480 in "crystal clear previewing"

    You're asking about "accurate" preview, representative of the export. The wording, or at least how I read the wording, was the problem




    A better question would be - How does it differ from what you actually get ? e.g. colors different, levels different , noise, glitches - that sort of thing. Are there giltched transitions etc....

    Are you saying preview looks ok, but export has "problems" ? Or the other way ? Or both ?




    GPU can be used for some of the encoders for export in the export dialog options. So it's not just GPU video processing in the preferences
    Quote Quote  
  6. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    like pdr said i turn the gpu off for encoding. there i did have problems with rendering out to files certain plugins/effects, so i only encode using the cpu.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  7. pdr is still confused. that amazes me.


    "turn the gpu off for encoding"

    so i spent $400 for nothing and Vegas is garbage? it doesn't cooperate with basically the world's most popular video card?


    this is ridiculous
    Last edited by gription; 16th Jan 2019 at 23:12.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by gription View Post
    pdr is still confused. that amazes me.


    "turn the gpu off for encoding"

    so i spent $400 for nothing and Vegas is garbage? it doesn't cooperate with basically the world's most popular video card?


    this is ridiculous
    The problem doesn't lie with Vegas. The inability to produce a high-quality result is due to the built-in limitations of the GPU's dedicated hardware-based encoders. While the quality available from GPU hardware-accelerated encoding has improved over time, the best software encoders can still provide greater quality and versatility. The main attraction for GPU encoding is speed.
    Ignore list: hello_hello, tried, TechLord
    Quote Quote  
  9. i just want to hit play in vegas and watch a flawless, seamless, exact preview of what i'm going to get after i render. as of right now it's too "glitchy" to get a good gauge of what i've got unless i stop everything, render the thing, wait 5-20 minutes, watch the .mp4, decide what needs adjusting, etc etc etc.

    i highly doubt the guys in hollywood deal with this bullshit. so, i figure i need to put some more money into this computer. any advice? i thought a 1080 would do it. it seems like everything else is up to par. i may be wrong.
    Quote Quote  
  10. VEGAS 15 has a separate setting for the PREVIEW quality. Set it to "high" rather than leaving it at "Auto". The preview quality is a compromise , and - depending on that setting - may even show the content as interlaced on your monitor.
    I would recommend to encode a short snippet of your source and play the result of the encode on your final device (TV....) and see how this looks.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Originally Posted by gription View Post
    pdr is still confused. that amazes me.
    Come on , your description is shit. What is "FX can be a nightmare, etc etc?"

    If you had GPU acceleration problems with the 1060 what makes you think it would be better with the 1080? It's the same generation of card, you'd just get problems faster if you're doing the same thing. It's like the guy who walks into the wall and breaks his nose, but thinks that walking into the wall "faster" would help

    That is... unless there were some issues with your process or user error. Someone has it working with 1080, you saw , right ?

    Answer the other questions if you want help . There are specific reasons why they are being asked



    Originally Posted by gription View Post
    i just want to hit play in vegas and watch a flawless, seamless, exact preview of what i'm going to get after i render. as of right now it's too "glitchy" to get a good gauge of what i've got unless i stop everything, render the thing, wait 5-20 minutes, watch the .mp4, decide what needs adjusting, etc etc etc.
    Now we are getting somewhere. In vegas, like any software, there are known specific issues that have specific causes and workarounds

    Is it mainly just the "glitchyness"? Describe them. Is it dropped frames? Mixed up frames out of order? Something else? Because dropped frames is more indicative of underpowered system - but we don't have any clue of what type of project you're doing . Glitched frames at transitions is more indicative of GPU acceleration issues

    Is it just a simple project , or is it a monster project with 63 tracks and 123 effects at 8k resolution ?


    Or are you referring to other things that need "adjusting", such as a color/ levels discrepancy between final export ?

    Let me guess, you overclocked your card too , probably CPU and memory too ? Did you try stock speeds ?

    Are you sure it's GPU related ? If you disable 1) GPU processing 2) GPU preview and is everything "fixed"? . Or do you still get "vegas' BS" ?

    Again - what media types - what types of source content , video types, compression ? Certain types are prone to causing problems (e.g VFR, b-frame AVI files) in all editors, not just vegas.





    i highly doubt the guys in hollywood deal with this bullshit. so, i figure i need to put some more money into this computer. any advice? i thought a 1080 would do it. it seems like everything else is up to par. i may be wrong.
    They don't use vegas.

    For plain decoding of a file, it's actually just CPU anyways. Do the tests to rule out if GPU has any effect

    For example, does the glitchyness *only* occur on GPU effects or transitions. What is the distribution ? Is it repeatable (e.g. if you go back a few second and preview, does the exact same glitchyness occur ?)

    60 quadros won't help for non GPU accelerated operations like decoding. It's like throwing good money after bad.









    Nvidia works better with for sure with Adobe . Not only speed, but stability - MPE , Cuda. Vegas works better with AMD with OpenCL. Nvidia is a lot slower than it should be in vegas

    GPU processing is less stable in vegas. For sure. For every 10 GPU related problems in vegas forum there might be 1 in Adobe forum . It's the same ratio here

    As usually_quiet mentioned - another reason people don't like use GPU encoding (both Vegas and Adobe) is if they want decent quality. GPU encoder does not produce as high quality or compression ratio.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
    Originally Posted by gription View Post
    i just want to hit play in vegas and watch a flawless, seamless, exact preview of what i'm going to get after i render. as of right now it's too "glitchy" to get a good gauge of what i've got unless i stop everything, render the thing, wait 5-20 minutes, watch the .mp4, decide what needs adjusting, etc etc etc.
    Now we are getting somewhere.
    I've been saying the same thing the whole time

    Is it mainly just the "glitchyness"? Describe them. Is it dropped frames? Mixed up frames out of order? Something else?
    it's like i said.. half of the splits in the video glitch a little. it's a slight stutter. if i put any FX whatsoever, "brightness" let's say, it'll slow down during preview and it bugs me.
    it's a 10 minute video with something like 140 little pieces. audio & video. i mean sure, a basic 2 track thing wouldn't be an issue but this is a project, i think it's only 9 tracks total. and i get it, it's drawing from a bunch of files (maybe 40 total?) with a bunch of little specifications within vegas, but still.. i want a "crystal clear" preview nonetheless. that's all i want.

    Let me guess, you overclocked your card too , probably CPU and memory too ? Did you try stock speeds ?
    nothing, that's kids stuff.

    Are you sure it's GPU related ? If you disable 1) GPU processing 2) GPU preview and is everything "fixed"? . Or do you still get "vegas' BS" ?
    i assume it's GPU? the whole thing here is why buy the card and just disable it in the software? seems stupid? now we're on default settings which = shit.



    i highly doubt the guys in hollywood deal with this bullshit. so, i figure i need to put some more money into this computer. any advice? i thought a 1080 would do it. it seems like everything else is up to par. i may be wrong.
    They don't use vegas.
    ok, curiosity.. what DO they use? what is the cream of the crop here


    Nvidia works better with for sure with Adobe .
    something tells me to ditch vegas and adapt to premiere now while i'm still new to this. all my other stuff is adobe, and vegas is overall irritating.... i know i should, but i'm fairly comfortable with vegas. what do the pros use.

    thank you
    Quote Quote  
  13. What seems stupid is not doing the basic research before shelling out hundreds of pounds on things that aren't going to give you the results you're after. What seems stupid is coming on to a site like this, asking for help and then repeatedly failing to answer the questions that will give the people here enough information so that they may actually be able to help you.
    Quote Quote  
  14. what's really stupid is your inability to read. that simple. read the words. should i add a bouncing ball for you? what do you need, slowhead?
    Quote Quote  
  15. Originally Posted by gription View Post

    I've been saying the same thing the whole time
    Maybe; but you need to be more descriptive.

    "Glitches" suggest something different than "laggy playback" . "Crystal clear" suggests something different than "stutter". For example, if I had a "blurry" picture that would be the opposite of "crystal clear." But that doesn't necessarily indicate anything about playback performance. I could have a "crystal clear" still frame.

    "FX can be a nightmare" - but in what way ?




    it's like i said.. half of the splits in the video glitch a little. it's a slight stutter. if i put any FX whatsoever, "brightness" let's say, it'll slow down during preview and it bugs me.
    it's a 10 minute video with something like 140 little pieces. audio & video. i mean sure, a basic 2 track thing wouldn't be an issue but this is a project, i think it's only 9 tracks total. and i get it, it's drawing from a bunch of files (maybe 40 total?) with a bunch of little specifications within vegas, but still.. i want a "crystal clear" preview nonetheless. that's all i want.
    But you haven't answered the questions . Details are important. It might be "normal" for your project and hardware

    eg. If it was 8K video that's going to be completely different than SD from a DVD . Systems much more powerful than yours still use proxy editing

    If it was 120 FPS, that would make a big difference than if it was 30FPS . If it was HEVC compression that would make a massive difference over I-frame assets . If your "drawings" were a large dimension, but project is "only" 1920x1080 and you didn't need the resolution (maybe for panning, reframing), resizing them beforehand makes a difference

    What kinds of video ? There are problematic types, like cell phone VFR videos, AVI files with b-frames. The other editing software can have problems too, and convert them before for stability


    Are you sure it's GPU related ? If you disable 1) GPU processing 2) GPU preview and is everything "fixed"? . Or do you still get "vegas' BS" ?
    i assume it's GPU? the whole thing here is why buy the card and just disable it in the software? seems stupid? now we're on default settings which = shit.
    Don't assume anything. You need to debug it. You need to do tests to determine what isn't working properly or narrow down the problem. If you have a clue as to what the problem is, then maybe you can fix it. e.g. if it's definitely GPU, then maybe it's a driver issue ? Maybe there is a hotfix. Other people have it working (at least for some projects, maybe not 163 layer 8K projects) . Maybe you don't have it configured properly


    i highly doubt the guys in hollywood deal with this bullshit. so, i figure i need to put some more money into this computer. any advice? i thought a 1080 would do it. it seems like everything else is up to par. i may be wrong.
    They don't use vegas.
    ok, curiosity.. what DO they use? what is the cream of the crop here

    For pure editing, the majority use Avid Media Composer , and quite a few still use FCP(X) . Adobe gets thrown in occasionally, only because there are other accessory Adobe applications in the pipeline. But for the actual editing part, the majority of professional editors in Hollywood prefer Avid MC, FCP

    But one big reason why Avid MC and FCP are so stable, is the workflow typically uses a transcoded I-frame intermediate . DNxHD/DNxHR for Avid, Prores for FCPX . There is no timecode bugginess or VFR with mixed assets . They get high quality assets from the get go, not some junk consumer formats. If you transcoded everything to a uniform I-frame format, it would be more stable in any program, vegas included. The decoding performance is much faster than long GOP formats. Adobe has implemented internally a very fast intermediate that is GPU decoded called Daniel2 . There you you can leverage the GPU(S) even more

    But people like just dropping and dragging various things. They want things to work as is, quickly. They don't want the hassles of transcoding or some proxy workflow. Pros/cons .
    Quote Quote  
  16. aBigMeanie aedipuss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    666th portal
    Search Comp PM
    most of what i work on are 3 or 4 multi-cam projects so for large projects i transcode all source files into sony yuv (video for windows template in render as) and customize the template to the output format i will use. then i use the sony yuv files in vegas for the editing.

    you might try increasing the ram available for the video preview also - options/preferences/video.
    Image
    [Attachment 47838 - Click to enlarge]



    you can also play with the settings in preview device - display.
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  17. Dinosaur Supervisor KarMa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    US
    Search Comp PM
    We still have zero idea what kind of source OP is dealing with. Is it a low compression I-frame style format (Prores, MJPEG, JPEG2000, etc), is it lossless, or is it more of a compressed delivery format (H.264/H.265)? High bitrate (>20Mbit), high detail content is also slower to decode than smaller content. I'm not sure you understand how much of a major factor this is gription.

    No matter what it glitches a little at half the splits
    Sounds like you are having to decode a GOP (common in H.264/H.265) or a slow HDD seek speed.

    I personally use Adobe PP every now and again to deal with H.265 source files. H.265 decoding is not smooth or anything but I can put up with it, and when I don't want to put up with it I create SD x264 proxies and edit with that. As far as timecode inconsistencies between the source and the proxy, simply keeping everything in a .TS seems to fix everything on that note.
    Quote Quote  
  18. Originally Posted by gription View Post
    what's really stupid is your inability to read. that simple. read the words. should i add a bouncing ball for you? what do you need, slowhead?
    I refer you to Mr PoisonDeathRay's post above, you numpty. Give us some info about what types of video you're working with and what you're trying to do and maybe someone will be able to help you. Keep being rude and stupid and, frankly, who'll care if you get it sorted or not . . . Good luck.
    Quote Quote  
  19. If you keep responding, like: "What video are you using?" Answer: " 10 minute video with something like 140 little pieces"

    You p*** off anyone in this thread involved.

    btw. Hollywood editors does not uses some h264 long GOP video with key frames every 250 frames, in MP4 container (your format is still a mystery btw.) and with FX on them. That is done later. They just edit footage and using intermediate formats with low latency anyway. Perhaps they use Avid, perhaps Lightworks , FinalCut , who knows.
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Oakland CA
    Search Comp PM
    I use an AMD Radeon R9 Fury with Vegas 13/16 after trying many cards. It really depends of the type of file that you are using too. With some files you need to make proxies to get smooth playback. Stay away from sharpen/unsharp mask filters and certain effects and plugins. They would mandate proxy files for smooth preview. You can render selections on the Vegas timeline by using shift/b. Vegas is a good solid program. I'be been using it since around 1999.
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    Yeah, what the OP needs to tweak isn't just Vegas or his GPU, but storage subsystem, RAM & scratch disc allocation, codecs, drivers, background processes...
    But that probably pales in comparison to what really needs fixing: workflows, preparation, habits, expectations and attitude.
    $400 wasted? Smh - "You can't handle the truth!"
    I know plenty of folks who can and are doing way more with less, myself included.

    Get out of your own way and LISTEN to the suggestions, fully ANSWER the questions, with RESPECT for those who know more about this than you.


    Scott
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads