VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello !

i have a video that i edited on premiere pro cs6 and i used lagarith codec to export (because i don't want to loose quality)

i had a few issue first one is it was very slow to export the files, the files was so so heavy (i think it's normal)

But the video was laggy af i wasn't able to read it correctly

i don't know anything about codec it's my first time using this i took lagarith because i read it's lossless but i think i'm doing something wrong in the export process,

any clue ?

thank you !
    Last edited by banane1; 16th Jan 2019 at 11:57.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Lossless codecs are not meant to be for playback. The main purpose is to serve as an intermediate file.

Lots of data in them, maybe latency performance is not good enough or data transfer is too much to handle for live performance on your system.

Some lossless have low latency performance (better for playback) , that is a trade off for slightly bigger file, not sure if that is a rule, but sort of. But Lagarith , I think, should be one of those with better latency performance.
    Quote Quote  
  3. You may want to make smaller proxy versions of your videos for editing and then link back to your originals for final output. This is incredibly easy in current versions of Premiere -- but it's never been difficult. Not sure where CS6 was on that evolutionary scale.

As _AI_ points out, lagarith is really not used for final output anyway.
    Quote Quote  
  4. ok thank you for your reply,

if i give up on lagarith, do you have any idea what codec should i use to get the best quality ?
    Quote Quote  
  5. There is no best. The way it works is, what is the best compromise for me to watch something.

Lossless codecs as you can see are not meant for playback.