VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2
FirstFirst 1 2
Results 31 to 46 of 46
Thread
  1. Wiggle, wiggle, wiggle.


    Nothing new with what that have been said already.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    USA
    Search PM
    How did you get frame 157 exactly? What software did you use to spot that? I think I used AVC? No real option to chose something else other than the ones you listed not to use. Any capture software recommendations?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Originally Posted by RS456 View Post
    How did you get frame 157 exactly? What software did you use to spot that?
    I downloaded the video then opened it with VirtualDub2. The frame jumps up at frame 157, then down at 158, then back to normal.

    Originally Posted by RS456 View Post
    Any capture software recommendations?
    VirtualDub or AmarecTV.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    USA
    Search PM
    VirtualDub can capture from capture card?
    Quote Quote  
  5. Originally Posted by RS456 View Post
    VirtualDub can capture from capture card?
    Yes. File -> Capture AVI.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    USA
    Search PM
    What do I need to do in VirtualDub to access the capture card?
    Quote Quote  
  7. Originally Posted by RS456 View Post
    What do I need to do in VirtualDub to access the capture card?
    In capture mode you click at "Device" and select your capture card on the list.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    USA
    Search PM
    One more question will two TBCs cause a problem with the capture? I know my capture card has a TBC and I suspect my VCR also has TBC because the results for VHS by itself is far better than most VHS samples I am seeing on the internet. I am assuming what I got might be a result of a software problem.

    Update: I am pretty sure the VCR I did the sample on has some form of TBC and capture card doesn't seem like it has it as all despite saying it in its registry settings. Just tried using my other VCR with and without the TBC on in the registry. No difference at all and it was significantly worse than the VCR I did my sample on. Both left and right edges of the screen have complete jagged edges from top to bottom unlike the uploaded sample. The pointed issue might be caused by a lag in the software that came with the card.

    How do I set up Virtualdub properly with my capture card? Like mentioned above I did select my capture card but I don't see any video. Just a big white screen.
    Last edited by RS456; 27th Jan 2019 at 00:57. Reason: Update
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    USA
    Search PM
    Update : New video sample. Is this any better than the previous samples.

    https://streamable.com/dw2fj

    Previous older video sample: https://streamable.com/qr7pt
    Quote Quote  
  10. Same as before. Horizontal time base might be a little better.

    But really, if you want hardware comparisons you should upload the same clip. Don't deinterlace, and don't use lossy compression.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    USA
    Search PM
    Actually this was an experiment. Someone mentioned that nearly all modern VCRs have TBC in the video input typically used for video camera input (Video input ports in the front of the VCR). Its seems to be true as this sample is played on the VCR that performed significantly worse than the VCR I did the sample I posted before on just by itself. This VCRs was so bad by itself that I didn't need an expert opinion on it (that bad). This sample is a drastic difference. Now I have to try my good vcr on it.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by RS456 View Post
    ...Someone mentioned that nearly all modern VCRs have TBC in the video input typically used for video camera input (Video input ports in the front of the VCR)...
    That is SO NOT TRUE.

    Any built-in TBCs that VCRs have ever had on any models have been on the better models and they were Line TBCs attached to the VCR's OUTPUT.

    You may be confusing that with DVD recorders, which don't truly have a "TBC", but because of digital sampling and frame-buffering, act like the equivalent of a Full-frame TBC when recording, and some when in live pass-through mode.

    Scott
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    USA
    Search PM
    This is the sample from almost the same spot in the tape with only the cheap VCR. Also In the previous sample of this I did not use a dvd recorder as the front input. It was just a plain dvd/vcr combo player. The player is the cheap vcr in both samples. In one sample the cheap vcr output went through the front input of my dvd/vcr combo and in the other the cheap vcr output went directly to computer. Also that person clearly mentioned that the TBC is on the Camera input typically on the front and said that none of the other lines will have it. It was also mentioned it was so that people can transfer their video camera videos cleanly.

    https://streamable.com/tsn83
    Last edited by RS456; 12th Feb 2019 at 23:51.
    Quote Quote  
  14. If you can't be bothered to upload losslessly compressed video that haven't been poorly deinterlaced, I'm not going to bother anymore.
    Quote Quote  
  15. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    USA
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    If you can't be bothered to upload losslessly compressed video that haven't been poorly deinterlaced, I'm not going to bother anymore.
    I have a question. How do I do that? All I did was hook my VCR up to my capture card and recorded it in the card software without modifying any settings. If I do the whole movie it is 7 gb. Someone suggested Vdub but it can't read the format my card is sending. Any other suggesting regarding this?
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member dellsam34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Paris Ca, 92345 Mexico
    Search PM
    Your capture card software compresses the video on the fly, If you are ok with it that's fine, The folks are trying to explain to you to avoid lossy captures, Capturing lossless has a learning curve and needs patience, If you are interested in it there are tons of threads here in this section of the forum just read on.
    If your VCR has TBC function it should have a button labeled TBC or a menu item says TBC ON/OFF, if it doesn't have those it doesn't have TBC, it's that simple.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads