VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or try DVDFab and copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Europe
    Search PM
    What is currently the best value Ryzen CPU? I am thinking about either the RYZEN 3 2200G or the RYZEN 5 2400G. What do you think?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Search Comp PM
    the 1700
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Europe
    Search PM
    Why the 1700?
    Quote Quote  
  4. If you shop around you can find the 1700X for as little as $130; I would still wait to see what Zen 2 has to offer though.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Originally Posted by kyrcy View Post
    Why the 1700?
    8 cores, 16 threads, vs. 4 cores, 4 threads or 4 cores, 8 threads. Ie, 2x to 4x more processing power.

    But it really depends on what software you use.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Europe
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    Originally Posted by kyrcy View Post
    Why the 1700?
    8 cores, 16 threads, vs. 4 cores, 4 threads or 4 cores, 8 threads. Ie, 2x to 4x more processing power.

    But it really depends on what software you use.
    Yes, but for double the cost.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Dinosaur Supervisor KarMa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    US
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by kyrcy View Post
    Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    Originally Posted by kyrcy View Post
    Why the 1700?
    8 cores, 16 threads, vs. 4 cores, 4 threads or 4 cores, 8 threads. Ie, 2x to 4x more processing power.

    But it really depends on what software you use.
    Yes, but for double the cost.
    You asked for the best value and the 1700 probably is, based on CPU power per $.
    Quote Quote  
  8. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    1700x is the best.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Dinosaur Supervisor KarMa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    US
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by johns0 View Post
    1700x is the best.
    Seems like the 1700x is just a 1700 which has been factory overclocked. AMD might also be putting the better chips in the 1700x with the less lucky chips binned to the 1700. The 1700 can be overclocked, like the 1700x, but it might not be as much of an overclocker as a binned 1700x.
    Last edited by KarMa; 17th Jan 2019 at 11:36. Reason: added the word "much"
    Quote Quote  
  10. Originally Posted by kyrcy View Post
    Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    Originally Posted by kyrcy View Post
    Why the 1700?
    8 cores, 16 threads, vs. 4 cores, 4 threads or 4 cores, 8 threads. Ie, 2x to 4x more processing power.

    But it really depends on what software you use.
    Yes, but for double the cost.
    3x to 4x performance for 2x the cost is a better value. And when you consider the price of a full system the extra cost for the 1700(X) is a much smaller percentage.

    Of course, you'll need to factor in the cost of a graphics card for 1700(X).

    Or maybe you meant -- what is the best (value CPU), not (best value) CPU.
    Last edited by jagabo; 12th Jan 2019 at 10:35.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    USA
    Search Comp PM
    I've been running my Ryzen X1700 for about a year and a half with no problems. It's fast enough for me without any OC.
    https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/384584-Ryzen-upgrade-with-X1700-CPU-DDR4-RAM-and-M-2-SSD?
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Europe
    Search PM
    Is the RYZEN 5 2400G the best choice if I need integrated graphics? It's not much faster than my existing CPU.
    Last edited by kyrcy; 14th Jan 2019 at 14:31.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Europe
    Search PM
    I read that a Raven Ridge CPU only supports Microsoft Windows 10. Does this mean that if I want to use Windows 7 I must use a Summit Ridge or a Pinnacle Ridge CPU?
    Quote Quote  
  14. Originally Posted by kyrcy View Post
    I read that a Raven Ridge CPU only supports Microsoft Windows 10. Does this mean that if I want to use Windows 7 I must use a Summit Ridge or a Pinnacle Ridge CPU?
    You might be able to get around the Win10 limitation:

    https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/384921-Windows-7-Image-Updater-SkyLake-KabyLake-Co...n-Threadripper
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads