VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    Hi guys! My first post here. I'm a designer from Poland with a passion for filming and photography. Got into filming 15 years ago and it's always been a great adventure. I went from fisheyes to fast lenses over those years and this time I wanted to share something really peculiar that happened to me lately. I hope I can share some useful knowledge here and perhaps you can give me some advice.

Straight to the point:
    What video camera should I use to avoid concert stage light flickering & horizontal stripes/bands situations in the future? EF mount preferably. I have described my whole story below.

The situation:
    I got invited to a rock concert (audience of around 2000, amps, electric guitars, all the good stuff) and was allowed to film a couple songs. I'm a film look addict so I took my fastest lens for some cool shots. I wanted to achieve a nice live/music video feel.

Gear:
    Canon 6D mk1
    Canon 85mm f/1.2 L
    Zhiyun Crane 2 (follow focused by cord)

Issues I encountered:
    I was aware that flickering might appear, and I know how to handle shutter speeds in such situations, but the stage lights were pure crazy. I tried PAL, NTSC, 24p,25p,30p,50p, 1/30, 1/50, 1/100, etc. I think I tried every possible combination and there was always flickering or stripes on my footage. I got really frustrated because some lights caused that and some didn't. And many of those weren't even strobes, just regular dim lights.

The Zhiyun Crane 2 appeared to be sound sensitive OR electromagnetic field sensitive because when the drummer hit the drums really hard, the whole gimbal shook. Motors went crazy!

In the end I tried to look for those difficult lights and avoid them and film the drummer when he didn't kill it so hard.

Fun fact: