VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi there,

I am a complete newbie here; I tried to search for a post that would help but there's just so many conversations I can't seem to find what would help. If there's a thread that answers my question, please point me to it!

First let me say that when I use the VCR to play the VHS when connected to a television, the video runs fine. But when I try to capture it digitally using the honestech VHS to DVD 3.0., the image colors are way off, somewhat black and white with bands of random colors (I've attached a sample screenshot). I've tried on multiple computers, I even tried two different USB readers, as I had bought two. Always the same result.

I tried switching to VLC, and I can't even get the video to show there--though I do hear the sound as it is converting. That is probably an entirely different question. But if I could get either of these methods to work, I would be happy!

Is there some setting I need to change in honestech to get the colors right? Is there a way to make it work in VLC? Do I need to give up and buy a different software?

Thank you!
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	example.png
Views:	2941
Size:	471.5 KB
ID:	47474  

Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    This is a bit outside of my area, but since no one else has responded yet, I will take a guess.....

Your problem *might* be related to your VHS tape having copy protection on it.

Do a search on this website for the term "macrovision"

Hopefully someone who is more knowledgeable than myself about VCR matters can chime in here.

TC
    My Dell PC system info.....3.4 Ghz Quad Core i7 processor....... 12 gigs of ram DDR3...... Windows 7 ultimate 64 bit.......video card Nvidia GTX 650
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Don't use VLC for capturing, use VirtualDub.
    But Honestech is also a lousy card, just a rebadge of the EZcap/EZcrap.