VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or try DVDFab and copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    I have a video with out of sync subtitles. When the audio profile is generated it bears no recognizable relation to the audio. I cannot find how to regenerate the profile, it seems to have been saved and reloads automatically when the srt file is opened. I have updated to the latest subtitle edit, k lite full and vlc with no change. Could it be that the file is mkv 720p - x265 hevc 10bit heaac 2.0 encoded?

    Also after the updates I cannot find how to enable current subtitle highlighting in the list view tab, when moving through the video the highlight (actually larger text, not coloured) remains on the first subtitle.

    Any help on these issues will be much appreciated.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member netmask56's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Post a MediaInfo report on the video file. Are you sure the srt is the same fps as the video?
    BeyonWiz T3 PVR ~ Popcorn A-500 ~ Samsung ES8000 65" LED TV ~ Windows 7 64bit ~ Yamaha RX-A1070 ~ QnapTS851-4G
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks for your reply.

    Regards my last question, I missed ticking the 'Select current subtitle while playing' on the Adjust tab. Solved.

    Not sure if the issue has been understood properly, the problem is the audio profile generated from the video displayed by Subtitle edit does not correspond with the audio heard in playback when adjusting the timing of the subtitles. I have reinstalled subtitle edit, k-lite full and vlc again, did not help. I do not know where subtitle edit stores the audio profile between runs. If I knew I would delete it and force it to generate a new profile which may be of interest. Please find attached a MediaInfo report of the offending video.
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	MediaInfo.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	374.4 KB
ID:	47433  

    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    What is the purpose of the audio profile? Is it some kind of visualization that helps with the sync?
    I've synced plenty of subs, but never used such a tool
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    You got it
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    OK, I installed it and took a look myself:
    The "audio profile" is stored in \SubtitleEdit-3.5.7\Waveforms
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks for taking the trouble to install and check it out. I must be missing something. I can find no \SubtitleEdit-3.5.7\Waveforms in the win7 64 bit Program Files\Subtitle Edit folder. I also searched for Waveforms on the C drive and came up with nothing. I checked Documents and Settings\All Users, Default, My own account, Default User is not accessible.

    What is the full path on your machine?

    Thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Unfortunately the full path will not help you since I used the portable Subtitle Edit and it's one of the folders off of that.
    If you installed yours in Windows 7 64 bit, it will probably be in \program files (x86)\ ....
    or possibly \users\your_user\appdata\local\ ...
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Denmark
    Search Comp PM
    You can clear the saved waveforms via Options -> Settings -> Tools -> waveform - "Empty spectrogram and waveform folder" + restart SE.
    (when using the installer version, the waveform folder is something like "C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Roaming\Subtitle Edit\Waveforms")

    If the waveform is still out-of-sync try using "FFmpeg" for generating the wavform (same window) or convert the video to an mp4 file with e.g. Handbrake and then generate the waveform again.
    Last edited by Nikse; 17th Dec 2018 at 15:29.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Thank you Nikse I was able to clear it in the options menu, the wave form regenerated and is in now in sync, Perfect, Thank you.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads