VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or try DVDFab and copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
Thread
  1. I've been throwing together my first video through DVR 15, with 98% of my media stored on an external HD. Up until today, my media has loaded fine when pulling up my project. Zero issues with HD, computer, DV or anything. However, when I open my project, virtually none of my media is loading. I'm also having trouble accessing media when going directly through the file explorer for my HD.



    I imagine this is an external HD issue, but I haven't received any notification that I have corrupted files, my media is incompatible, etc. I've just been unable to access it. When looking at my media in DVR it takes a very long time to load anything, and what has loaded shows a lot of files with the red box "Media Offline". I'm pretty new to video editing, media storage and pretty much everything editing and laptop related.dltutuapp.com/ 9apps.ooo/ showbox.software/


    I'm using an ASUS striker laptop with 16GB RAM and a 1050 GPU (I think, I might be mixing stuff up). My External HD is a 1TB WD My Passport that is 6 or so years old. My DaVinci Project is roughly 100 different clips at 2.7k at 23.976fps and total clip length is around 6 minutes if any of that matters or is helpful.



    Anybody deal with a similar issue? Any fixes or ways to save my project?
    Last edited by briangomes; 4th Dec 2018 at 15:03.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Originally Posted by briangomes View Post
    I'm also having trouble accessing media when going directly through the file explorer for my HD.
    Looks like your HDD it's going bye, bye. Do not force it, do not turn it on, don't scan it.
    If possible sent it over to a repair shop to be serviced, in general when this happens, one of your HDD heads got busted or something related with that.

    There is nothing you can do to fix it.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    My apologies (once again) to the regulars as I've posted the following dozens of times before.

    First, you do have a backup, right? Always keep a least one backup (ideally two, leaving one offsite) of all your data.

    Second, listen to the drive. Is it spinning continuously or is spinning and slowing down? Is is making a clicking noise? If it's spinning and slowing down, it's likely the USB connection/power is bad (more below). If it's clicking, it may be a USB connection/power issue or a mechanical failure and would have to be sent off for data recovery which is hundreds of dollars and there's no guarantee of 100% success.

    Third (I recommend skipping this step and jumping to step four, more about why, below), it's possible the USB cable is bad or the USB port on your laptop isn't supplying enough power. Try another USB port on your laptop and make sure it's USB 3.0 (the plastic part is light blue). Get a dual plug USB 3.0 cable: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005M0ICG2/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1 like this and try again. Some USB ports, especially on a laptop don't provide enough power to an external drive though a single port.

    Fourth regardless of what sounds you hear from the drive, remove it from the case and connect it* via a SATA to USB adapter like this: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004HZWVGK/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1 or place it in a hard drive dock or another external case. As I stated above, it's likely just the USB interface has failed given the Media offline message you're receiving

    *The USB interface is usually attached to the drives SATA connectors by a plug-in board. There are a few portable drives that have the interface soldered directly to the drive. In which case it would require getting an identical board and desolder the old one and solder on the new one.

    Fifth, if the drive is spinning continuously connected with a different USB cable or ideally through a dock or USB adapter, try accessing it through Linux. Use a live Linux distro like Ubuntu or Knoppix. Linux will often be able to access drives and data that Windows can't. If the drive is still clicking when connected directly, it's a mechanical issue.

    Finally, my recommendation having gone through dozens of external drive over the last 10-15 years is never to rely on an external drive for anything important. The drive inside is exactly the same as a more expensive internal and therefore the USB interface is cheap and prone to failure. You've been very lucky your drive lasted 6 years. If you're going to use an external drive (they're a bargain because they're cheaper than their internal equivalent), remove them from their case and use either a hard drive dock or a good external case for portability. This bypasses the cheap USB interface.

    Whether you're using a store bought external in its case or one (ideally) in a third party external case, don't connect and disconnect the USB cable from the drive end. Connect and disconnect the drive at the laptop/PC end. You can carefully remove the cable on the drive end after the drive is disconnected from the laptop/PC. Connecting and reconnecting the cable on the drive end can weaken the connection on the interface and cause issues like you're experiencing. Also, I highly suspect there's a small electrical shock (I've seen a spark fly between the cable and the port) every time you connect and reconnect the cable on the drive.
    Last edited by lingyi; 4th Dec 2018 at 10:35.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member ChapmanDolly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Search Comp PM
    The My Passport drives tend to be 5400rpm which is slow for playing video when using Resolve. You really need 7200rpm or an SSD. However, do suspect the hard drive as any sudden change in behaviour points to it starting to fail. This normally starts with an increasing number of bad sectors which has an affect on performance. Time to get those files backed up before it totally fails.
    Canon Legria G40-Dell XPS8700 i7 4core-Win 10-24gb RAM-GTX 750ti-DaVinci Resolve 15.2.1 & Dell 490 dual 4 core Xeon Workstation-Win 7 Ultimate-16gb ECC RAM- Pro Tools 2018.7
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Another step. Once you have your drive working and accessible, run CrystalDiskInfo to check it. If the button is yellow or red, your drive is bad and headed to complete failure. You can continue to use it, but not for anything important. Best to toss it.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Looks like your HDD it's going bye, bye. Do not force it, do not turn it on, don't scan it.
    If possible sent it over to a repair shop to be serviced, in general when this happens, one of your HDD heads got busted or something related with that.
    There is nothing you can do to fix it.
    Repair shop => Regular computer repair shop usually have very limited equipments and skills when it comes to HDD failures, at most they can do software recovery, which can be done at home (see below).
    Heads got busted : There are several types of HDD failures, head failures are among the most severe, and they require that the drive be opened by a specialist in a controlled environment (= “clean room”), but such service is very expensive (usually around $700 in western countries). With less severe types of failures, like bad sectors, a software only recovery can be enough to recover a very large amount of the data, although it is risky (because heads can fail in the process, or the damage can spread to the point where it becomes impossible to read anything). It's true that you shouldn't scan it (with CHKDSK, HDTune or whatever), but if you don't have a backup, and absolutely can't afford the services of a specialized laboratory, and CrystalDiskInfo (or equivalent) can get a reading of SMART data (which is very quick and doesn't significantly stress the drive) indicating that the drive has bad sectors (up to a few hundreds is not too bad, beyond 1000 it becomes really serious) but is still working otherwise, the best course of action is to perform a full clone with a tool designed to deal with defective storage devices, two of the most reputed being ddrescue and the newer HDDSuperClone ; both are freeware running on Linux (although the latter is now available in a commercial version with extra features). The author of HDDSuperClone conveniently released a custom Lubuntu ISO containing both HDDSuperClone and ddrescue :
    http://www.sdcomputingservice.com/hddlivecd
    It's not too difficult to set up, but you need to be very careful when defining the source drive and the destination drive. Of course you need another drive of at least equal capacity as the defective one. If it works, be patient because it could take many hours, or even several days, depending on the amount of damage. Then, if all goes well, once the clone is completed as much as possible, you can try to access it directly if the filesystem is not damaged, or you can scan it (the clone, not the original drive) with a regular data recovery software, like Recuva (very good for a freeware but limited features) or R-Studio (commercial but very efficient and thorough).
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    The OP hasn't come back since his/her original post, but a quick Google search points to we're going down the wrong road, i.e. hardware. The issue is likely a software issue with DaVinci as discussed here and other search results for 'media offline' https://lowepost.com/forums/topic/153-media-offline-on-davinci-resolve-timeline/ It's also a common error in other video editing software like Premiere, Lightworks and Avid.

    I got fooled, because some program, I think it's Teracopy shows a 'device offline' error if you disconnect a drive while it's working.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Repair shop:
    https://www.securedatarecovery.com
    https://www.salvagedata.com/
    https://www.gillware.com/
    https://drivesaversdatarecovery.com/ (the best laboratory (my opinion), to recover HDD and SSD drivers on the planet)
    https://www.salvagedata.com/

    Or send it back to the manufacturer to get it repaired.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    First - An important note about data recovery companies is their backlog is usually weeks or months before they can get to your drive. You can probably move you recovery up, if your pay a hefty premium.

    Second - Sending your drive back to the manufacturer will do nothing but get you a replacement drive if it's under warranty. Most do offer data recovery, but that's sourced out to the companies like those listed.

    Third - Not only is the OP's problem likely not drive related as I posted above, but mechanical problems which are usually either a stuck/sticking actuator or PCB board failure will give you little or no read data. And a broken head won't give you any read data at all.

    Edit: Also, a broken head will likely trash the drive platters as the actuator drags the hanging head back and forth trying to read the data. Permanent as if unrecoverable.

    Here's a video about what goes on in a data recovery company: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tNUsoangGFs

    Here's another video from Linus about possible solutions before sending your drive off for data recovery: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eyr14_B230o Jump to 13:40 for home solutions.
    Last edited by lingyi; 9th Dec 2018 at 13:01.
    Quote Quote  
  10. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    One thing people forget to check is if the usb connection is ok,If you are plugging/unplugging the usb on a regular basis then lint can build up in the female connection and cause connection issues,just clean the lint out.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by johns0 View Post
    One thing people forget to check is if the usb connection is ok,If you are plugging/unplugging the usb on a regular basis then lint can build up in the female connection and cause connection issues,just clean the lint out.
    Happens with my belly button sometimes. Clean out the lint and all good!

    Umm...won't discuss what's plugged and unplugged!
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads