VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hey guys,

I have a bunch of lectures in mp4 that I own and want to create mp3 versions of these same lectures in as high quality as possibly using ffmpeg. I have hundreds of files and am therefore looking for a bulk-solution. I installed ffmpeg using this tutorial but cannot get the various available scripts online on bulk-extraction/conversion to work, neither with .bat files nor simple entry.

For example, when I try the following, I get "f was unexpected at this time":

mkdir outputs
    for f in *.mp4; do ffmpeg -i "$f" -c:a libmp3lame "outputs/${f%.mp4}.mp3"; done

I'm quite new to ffmpeg so am not fully sure on how to amend codes for .bat solutions and simply entering the script in cmd.
    Could someone kindly point me towards an ffmpeg-solution that I can use to "convert" all mp4 files in a directory into mp3 files in the highest possibly quality?
    Quote Quote  
  2. for %%a in (*.mp4) do ffmpeg -i "%%~a" -b:a 320k "output\%%~na.mp3"
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search PM
    Windows Batch has a different syntax than shells of other operating systems. Calling "for /?" (possibly with redirection into a text file for convenient reading) will explain both parameters for the "for" loop itself and the syntax of variables in the command line interpreter "cmd" (interactively as well as for *.bat or *.cmd files). The percent signs may have to be doubled in batch files, compared to an interactive call.
    __

Side note:

There are more powerful command line interpreters for Windows too. One of the most famous is 4NT, the successor of 4DOS, by JP Software. The full version is commercial; there is still the "Take Command Console, Light Edition (TCC/LE) " which is free for personal use.
    Last edited by LigH.de; 19th Nov 2018 at 06:51.
    Quote Quote  
  4. For converting with ffmpeg, try AnotherGUI. I just copy ffmpeg.exe to the AnotherGUI folder.