I use ffdshow over here, I might mess around with it later.Not very many DV Decoders/Encoders can accept /output 4:1:1.
Cedocida is VFW only, not directshow (ie. it won't be used in a directshow player, like mpchc)
ffmpeg based ones typically can. For example, open that video in mpchc (I have mine configured with lav decoder, which uses ffmpeg libraries), and it looks like the screenshot I posted in terms of color edges and fewer blocky edges
You can use ffms2 in avisynth, that will open NTSC DV as 4:1:1 . Then you can upsample the chroma (and convert to RGB) using whatever algorithm. By default , avisynth uses bicubic for everything, that's exactly what was used for the screenshot.
If you look at your decoded image of "proper_ntsc_dv.avi" vs. the one I posted with ffms2 earlier, you will notice additional artifacts. Look especially at the vertical diagonals. But your image is what you would get with 99% of software, professional tools included like NLE's. And the main reason is that extra chroma resize step before RGB for a preview or screenshot
Eitherway, 4:1:1 is bad. There is just too much color information missing. But you can use various workflows to make it look "less bad", fewer conversions in terms of the up/downsampling "behind the scenes" certainly helps
Thank you poisondeathray.![]()
+ Reply to Thread
Results 31 to 60 of 63
-
It looks to me like Cedocida uses a point resize to reduce the chroma width when encoding, and a bilinear resize when restoring the chroma width when decoding. If you add:
Code:ConvertToYV24() U = UtoY().PointResize(last.width/4,last.height).BilinearResize(last.width,last.height).Crop(2,0,0,0).AddBorders(0,0,2,0) V = VtoY().PointResize(last.width/4,last.height).BilinearResize(last.width,last.height).Crop(2,0,0,0).AddBorders(0,0,2,0) YtoUV(U, V, last)
[Attachment 47279 - Click to enlarge] -
poisondeathray - やるじゃないか!, after a while I've manage to get it working with LAV filters.
jagabo - Thank you. Any notes on the provided Conexant cx23885 capture? -
-
-
There isn't much to configure, beside the DXVA settings, everything else is default.
I have noticed however that changing the video renderer it makes the end result a bit better, it can go from good to very worse with a click.
-
-
Hi amaipaipai,
please advice: i have these colorful vertical stripes over video. Is this a power supply failure or faulty capacitors on the motherboard? I attach a photo.
Thank you for answer
[Attachment 52228 - Click to enlarge] -
This can be a combination of both, the power supply when it fail it fails really bad, it sends AC into the board and it does a lot of damage, first of all, replace that power supply or either replace the bad caps on it with a low ESR type capacitor, don't use standard capacitor types. As for the board:
You need to replace the non marked caps, excluding the ones with a red circle, those are made of a dry polymer instead of electrolyte.
If your power supply it's damaged or faulty, you also need to replace the U27 (marked with a dark blue square) that is a 3.3v regulator (sorry i can't remember the exact value) and check the voltage output of the green marked U25, it's 5V regulator if I remember correctly. If the big NEC processor (U19) it's overheating and capture stops for no reason or if the devices freezes, this is because the component it's oscillating, find the component datasheet over the internet and replace the small ceramic capacitors connected to the VCC line.
Make sure you use ESD safe equipment to solder/de-solder the components and ground yourself before touching the PCB board. -
Send a sample of your video Lukas321, maye i have a good fix for that
*** DIGITIZING VHS / ANALOG VIDEOS SINCE 2001**** GEAR: JVC HR-S7700MS, TOSHIBA V733EF AND MORE -
Thank you for your willingness, I'm sending a demo.
https://youtu.be/ZJkUFDcGotA -
-
-
Hello all from Latvia!
I realize that this is an old thread, but I was hoping that Mr. Amaipaipai may be able to tell me that part number for U27-I have searched Hi and Lo with the number on the component (19CW N03A), but with no luckPerhaps a scanned copy of the schematics may be floting around somewhere? My very regulated 2A, 5V replacement supply gets loaded down to about 2.6 volts when I power on the unit, so before I start replacing regulators, I need to find replacements first-DigiKey has no record of such a regulator. All the best to the forum!
-
https://cloud.mail.ru/public/rK6v/JxXUWhEtx
This cleaned softvare neat video
Screen -
OMG just found this topic.. and bought ASAP a Canopus ADVC100 as an old/new-stock PAL version on Italy...
i will check the capacitors immediately -
Then you made a mistake.
Did you read the thread, or just the title? The OP displayed a complete lack of knowledge here, and multiple seasoned users called out his odd/wrong assertions. The thread then veered to other topics.
Canopus ADVC-100 (or 110, 50, 55) boxes do not have TBCs.
No chips (plural!) exist that provide this function within the unit. These are just old 1990s technology, very inferior quality output.Want my help? Ask here! (not via PM!)
FAQs: Best Blank Discs • Best TBCs • Best VCRs for capture • Restore VHS -
-
On the other hand, while being (sligthly) lower quality compared to our recommended approach, especially if you plan restoration, the DV route (ADVC in this case) is a solid and easy solution for capturing Analog video.
-
i read the thread, i saw all them are writting...
nice to know about capacitors..
i want to use the ADVC to convert good quality Video8 tapes to digital... i was worried to buy an old unit that doesn't work due to hardware degradation..
now i'm using a SONY RDR-HXD870 PAL as a passthru from Video8 Cams to a Blackmagic intensity pro (Svideo-in) and comparing output of video8 on a screen.. and final file result (uncompressed) them are very very very similar, i can't spot differences.
what i'm worried about are "electrical interferences" using a passthru device with a proprietary 220V power supply... i'm completely sure that there is some sort of 50hz noise present ( can't clearly see... but seems to be looking a completely blue-filled frames ) .. and using the stabilized firewire power directly from the same PC i hope i can remove also this very-low noise.
btw i will happy to provide a comparison using standard VHS and a VCR without TBC or similar... just to understand if there is some sort of frame-sync or other changes to the signal. (when the unit come to me next week) -
-
Loss of detail, cooked colors. Yep. That's a Canopus box. 1990s tech. Great back then, crap now.
As I often say, literally, I've heard this: "Why does grandma have a sunburn in our Christmas videos?"Want my help? Ask here! (not via PM!)
FAQs: Best Blank Discs • Best TBCs • Best VCRs for capture • Restore VHS -
SORRY WRONG PICTURE... on the canopus image there was a deinterlacer active
-
Post a sample of the captured videos, so we can compare in details!
-
Sure.. here:
www.wcn.it/canopus.avi
www.wcn.it/black.avi
the canopus file is half of the size ofthe blackmagic one -
Chrome = "Insecure download blocked"
DV is exactly 13GB/hour, as it had to fit on the now-tiny IDE HDD from the 1990s Pentium III era. The entire reason DV is so compressed is to appease limited consumer hardware of the day. Meanwhile, pro SCSI setups were doing uncompressed in the 1990s. Both got lossless in the 2000s, and never looked back. Using a Canopus ADVC box in the 2020s is like wanting to save files on floppy disks.Want my help? Ask here! (not via PM!)
FAQs: Best Blank Discs • Best TBCs • Best VCRs for capture • Restore VHS -
The DV codec was developped in 1994 by 55 companies for pro digital tape formats, such as the DVCPro, DV pro and DVCAM, The specification was known as blue book, later on found its way into consumer formats miniDV and Digital8, the goal was to achieve one hour of digital video and uncompressed digital audio into a single mini cassette which happens to be around 13GB, Computer hard drives back in 1994 were still in the MB range for most people, corporations may have reached the few GBs mark, so the only way to store video or edit it is to use digital tape and buy more tapes for more shooting. Pro gear benifited of the large format cassette that held around 2 hours.
-
emhh. i started selling Pentium III on 1999.. 1990s was "pentium" era.
BTW using firefox i can download the files... i saw chrome making the alert... maybe the files can be a P0rn
clicking "save link as:" is working (on dowwnload just accept the file as legit)
the poor 4:2:0 PAL-DV datas are recorded directly on the "mini DV" tapes ..right? (talking about mini DV recorder)
so... taking the video out from S-video or 1394 make no difference... right?
BTW just created a zip withthe 2 avi: https:\\www.wcn.it/can-bla.zipLast edited by Bartoloni; 12th Feb 2025 at 07:07.
-
The blackmagic (left picture) clips/crushes the darks at Y=16,
For the canopus you may want to shift the levels up a few notches.
[Attachment 85432 - Click to enlarge]Last edited by Sharc; 12th Feb 2025 at 08:51.
Similar Threads
-
Canopus ADVC-100 vs. ADVC-110 vs. ADVC-300
By TrackingError in forum Capturing and VCRReplies: 36Last Post: 16th Jul 2021, 12:19 -
New Computer, new device? Do I need to replace my Canopus ADVC-100?
By MikeMGMVE in forum Capturing and VCRReplies: 7Last Post: 24th Jun 2018, 17:15 -
Canopus ADVC 100 Firewire DUMB question
By Tolwyn in forum Video ConversionReplies: 7Last Post: 7th May 2017, 01:17 -
Canopus ADVC 100 - Noise/Grain in Capture
By passenger in forum Capturing and VCRReplies: 10Last Post: 21st Nov 2016, 05:00 -
Canopus ADVC-100 Problem
By Johncaig in forum Newbie / General discussionsReplies: 5Last Post: 22nd Jul 2014, 16:14