VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or try DVDFab and copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Search Comp PM
    Hi, hoping I can get a little help here. Itís a bit of a read but Iím attempting to list everything I know and the troubleshooting I have done to this point. Hopefully someone has an idea! I can't find a solution.

    The problem:
    I recently had two tvs and a projector hooked up, all with 2 HDMI cables running to them and all HDMI cables are running through the wall/floor/ceiling. Iíve tested all the connections and every cable seems to be working aside from 1 Twisted Veins cable, and this cable will not work on either of my Vizio TVs. A signal is detected on the PC end, I know the cable works, I know the PC port works, I know the HDMI ports on the TV work so I am completely stumped on what is keeping the connection from working.

    The Equipment:
    TV 1
    ē Model: Vizio E75-F1
    ē Firmware Version: 1.0.21.1
    ē Cast Version: 1.27.96538
    ē HDMI Cable A: Monoprice 50í 4K High Speed Cable Ė Product #21567
    ē HDMI Cable B: Twited Veins 50í HDMI Cable (The Issue Cable)
    TV 2
    ē Model: Vizio E75-F1
    ē Firmware Version: 1.0.21.1
    ē Cast Version: 1.27.96538
    ē HDMI Cable A: Monoprice 50í 4K High Speed Cable Ė Product #21567
    ē HDMI Cable B: Random 50í HDMI Cable I had on hand Ė not sure of specs.
    Projector
    ē Model: Optoma W416 WXGA 3D DLP Business Projector
    ē HDMI Cable A: Twited Veins 50í HDMI Cable
    ē HDMI Cable B: Twited Veins 50í HDMI Cable
    Source: Currently Using an HP ZBook 15 G4 to test the cables Ė wont be the final source but works for easy testing.
    Test Screen: ASUS VE248Q

    Troubleshooting Done:
    I have done a myriad of things trying to get this cable to work. Iíll do my best to explain them.

    Reasons I donít think it is the source (laptop) Ė All other cables work from the laptop port to their display without issue. The laptop even detects the TwistedVeins HDMI Cable. I get an audio queue from the connection, the display settings page detects a second screen. I have attempted to duplicate screens, extend screens, and just have the Vizio TV as the only display. Iíve done this in 4k, 1080 and minimum resolutions. The vizio still reads as No-Signal. Iíve also attempted using a different source computer and the results are the same.

    Reasons I donít think itís the cable. I have two other twisted veins cables of the same length running to the projector and both of these work. I set up a test screen by the Vizio and plugged the troubled HDMI cable into that and I got a signal on that screen, so I know the cable didnít get damaged running through the wall. It works, just not on the Vizio. And I donít think it is because the cable isnít high grade enough because itís a brand new cable and the old random cable I had works just fine.

    Reasons I donít think itís the Vizio TV. Since I have another cable running to the TV I have been able to test all the ports and they all get a signal so I know the ports arenít broken. Iíve updated the firmware. Everything about the TV seem to function aside from getting a signal from this one specific cable. Iíve also tried this fix with no luck.


    If anyone has any ideas it would be appreciated!
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    The cable it's self could have a short inside
    Some place. Look in both ends of the cable to see if
    Any of the little metal prongs are bent and causing
    A short out.

    Also try switching to different HDMI settings and see if
    Any of those work. Some equipment such as computers
    & Game consoles have a optimal resolution setting.

    With the problem cable hooked up to the TV try
    Doing a factory reset on the TV and see if you can get
    A signal.
    Last edited by october262; 8th Nov 2018 at 15:11.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by october262 View Post
    The cable it's self could have a short inside
    Some place. Look in both ends of the cable to see if
    Any of the little metal prongs are bent and causing
    A short out.

    Also try switching to different HDMI settings and see if
    Any of those work. Some equipment such as computers
    & Game consoles have a optimal resolution setting.

    With the problem cable hooked up to the TV try
    Doing a factory reset on the TV and see if you can get
    A signal.
    First, sorry for the delay, spam filter blocked the notification. Thank you for the input here.

    The cable seems to be in tact, no damage to the connectors. The cable works fine when plugged from the same source into a different display. The working display is much smaller (23" compared to 70") and I don't believe that would have any impact but it works and the other one does not.

    I've attempted using every HDMI port, as well. I've switched through the different picture modes on the TV trying to get a picture, as well as attempting max, min, and typical (1080) resolution outputs from the computer with no luck.

    I tried resetting the television to factory defaults with the source plugged in and a feed running (the display settings window on the source indicated two screens were in use) but I never received a picture. I then ran a system update on the TV with the connection running but no luck.

    As of now, I don't have a clue what could be the issue, I've reached out to Vizio in hopes maybe they'd have an idea as well. Thank you though!
    Quote Quote  
  4. 50 feet is pretty long for an HDMI cable. The signal is significantly distorted by the time it gets to the end. Some devices are better than others at dealing with that distortion. You may need to run shorter cables with repeaters. Or twisted pair or fiber with converters.
    Quote Quote  
  5. I just re-read your initial post and am still not entirely clear on how everything is connected. However, another possibility is that either your source or your switching device (if you are going through a home theater) won't allow more than one display to be turned on at once. Also, some sources require devices that will handshake in a certain way. For instance, I have a 25 foot HDMI that I run to a projector that I set up on a stand in our family room. It works fine. However, if I take that same cable and attempt to capture from it using my Hauppauge capture device, I get nothing. However, there are other connections that will permit me to capture via HDMI, not just from that cable that is connected to a "Monitor 2" output.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    jagabo is on the correct track. not only is the audio/video data distorted (requiring more aggressive error correction), but the handshake data is too. That's likely where it is falling down. It is not recommended to use an HDMI cable longer than ~30', unless it incorporates active signal enhancement & reconstruction, such as the Redmere Active EQ chip. Even then, you shouldn't go above ~100'. If you wanted to do it proper and ensure good signalling regardless, go with HDBaseT extenders. As it is, you're just lucking out when it does work.

    BTW, Monoprice cables are usually crap. And I cannot even vouch for Twisted Veins as I have never heard of that vendor. When we use Active HDMI cables (and not extenders), we use something like this: "https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1019552-REG/pearstone_hda_a475_active_hdmi_with_redmere.html/?ap=y&gclid=EAIaIQobChMItfDy387U3gIVC77ACh2DYAYjEA QYASABEgKvIvD_BwE&smp=Y".

    johnmeyer is also correct. HDMI is very finnicky about order of startup.

    Scott
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Twisted Veins is an inexpensive brand of HDMI cables sold on Amazon. I bought some and they were adequate but they were short cables, only 3 feet long. I wouldn't trust them for long cable runs.
    Ignore list: hello_hello, tried, TechLord
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    Could hdmi versions be the problem here?
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads