VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hey, Im almost finished digitizing my tapes. I just have a couple troublesome tapes left and then Ill be done.

This is my first time taking apart tapes, so I chose the one that was less messed up first. I got the tape back in the reels painlessly, but I cant figure out howthe clear tape cover goes on the tape (top left of 1st picture). Did it have adhesive on it 30 years ago? Or do you have to be forceful with this tape cover? Or do I even need it to just play the tape once?

The other tape is a nightmare. Was curious what you guys might try to do with it. I want to save all the tape, so I'd like to save this messed up bunch of tape if possible. But it might be unsalvageable. Should I try and digitize this bad section of tape, or should I cut it out and splice the good sides together without even attempting salvaging it?

Thank you
    Last edited by videon00b; 14th Oct 2018 at 17:09. Reason: made questions more specific
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search PM
    1. Should be just a press fit. If it won't stay on, then you'll have to glue it.

2. A lot of that tape will be salvageable if it's just twisted and not creased. Unwind it VERY slowly and carefully and don't put any new creases in it. Playing it a few times will also help to iron it out between the capstan and pinch roller. If you find any tears or holes, best to cut them out and not risk damaging the video heads.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Originally Posted by JVRaines View Post
    1. Should be just a press fit. If it won't stay on, then you'll have to glue it.

2. A lot of that tape will be salvageable if it's just twisted and not creased. Unwind it VERY slowly and carefully and don't put any new creases in it. Playing it a few times will also help to iron it out between the capstan and pinch roller. If you find any tears or holes, best to cut them out and not risk damaging the video heads.