VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Trying to set up streaming using the above with a windows system. Need help.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I know that its designed to work with Mac computers, but is there a way to get it to feed it's output to a Windows PC. I can find Thunderbolt cables to connect to Macs, but Windows PC's do NOT have a Thunderbolt input and I can't find anywhere an adapter. Has anyone been able to use this devise in a PC?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by dfisher052 View Post
    I know that its designed to work with Mac computers, but is there a way to get it to feed it's output to a Windows PC. I can find Thunderbolt cables to connect to Macs, but Windows PC's do NOT have a Thunderbolt input and I can't find anywhere an adapter. Has anyone been able to use this devise in a PC?
    I have no personal experience with a Blackmagic Design Ultra Studio Mini Recorder, but I can tell you that the adapter cards used to add a Thunderbolt port to a Windows PC require a Thunderbolt header on the motherboard. You would need to build/buy a desktop PC with a motherboard that includes a Thunderbolt header onboard to use an adapter card for Thunderbolt 3.

Example of a motherboard with a Thunderbolt header: GIGABYTE H370 HD3 https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/H370-HD3-rev-10#kf
    Add-on card: Gigabyte GC-ALPINE RIDGE Thunderbolt3 Certified PCI-E Expansion card Rev 2.0 https://www.ebay.com/i/123112245604?chn=ps

ASUS also has motherboards with a Thunderbolt header as well as add-on cards for their motherboards.

[Edit 2] I did not realize that the Blackmagic Design Ultra Studio Mini Recorder is a Thunderbolt 2 device. ...which means that if someone uses a PC with a Thunderbolt 3 connection, they would need an adapter like the Apple MMEL2AM/A, Thunderbolt 3 (USB-C) to 2 Adapter to connect their Mini Recorder to their computer.