VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hello, I am new here as a registered user but I visit the site frequently in search of useful information.
    i'm not a profesional in the technical aspects of codecs.

I'm in the process of capturing old VHS by using a standard VCR that does not have a TBC. I can not buy a VCR or a TBC at the moment either.
    I tried to capture with Usb 710 pinnacle.
    I'm looking for a way to capture without (out of sync problems between audio and video).
    I have noticed that when I capture in mpeg2 there are no sync problems. But I would like to capture in logarith so I can edit, deinterlace and then convert to mp4 with 60 fps in handbrake.
    This are my doubts:
    why when capturing in mpeg2 there are no sync problems ?
    Is it possible that buying a videoupscaler achieves the desired synchronism in the capture at much lower cost?
    I would clearly like to capture in a format that allows me to edit with very little loss, but for now I can't find anoother way to capture without the sync issue.
    I have a panasonic NV-GS75, i'm trying the passthrough method to capture in DV the VHS signal to see the results but i'm not sure if this cam can do it. For now i can't finda solid info about that.

Please let me know what would be the path that would follow to get the best result in a final mp4. Keep in mind they are 14 tapes vhs ntsc.
    Thank you for your time and for the depth of the answers in this forum.
    Last edited by Madero; 7th Oct 2018 at 19:28.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    In your case you should concentrate on the DV "pathway" by means of an DV camcorder passthrough or a DV box, like a Canopus ADVC100/110/300
    but only if your compture has a firewire connection.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    thanks Eric-jan, for your advice.