Hi, but yes: I'm a cat
I wonder if is there a way to expand and compress a waveform like the attached audioExample.wav
so that the audio level is alwais the same at -2.0 dB
In the attached examples I create a lowering in the central part like this:
[Attachment 46579 - Click to enlarge]
but now I try to understand if is there a way, possibly with ffmpeg or a program that pipe ffmpeg, that re-level all at a same level, including the expansion of the audio level of the part that have lower level .
Of course so already know that this procedure reduces the dynamics and quality of the audio but I need to know how to do.
Thanks
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
-
-
Sound Forge > normalize
Want my help? Ask here! (not via PM!)
FAQs: Best Blank Discs • Best TBCs • Best VCRs for capture • Restore VHS -
This is the foobar2000 ffmpeg command line I normally use when compressing soundtrack audio for night viewing, piping to QAAC for encoding The part that compresses is highlighted blue.
"C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe" /d /c c:\progra~1\foobar2000\encoders\ffmpeg.exe -i - -ignore_length true -c:a pcm_f32le -af dynaudnorm=f=150 -f wav - | c:\progra~1\foobar2000\encoders\QAAC\qaac.exe --ignorelength -s --no-optimize --no-delay -V 91 -o "audioExample.m4a" -
Your sample appears to need faster reacting compression though.
"C:\Program Files\foobar2000\encoders\ffmpeg.exe" -i - -ignore_length true -af dynaudnorm=f=50:g=9 -c:a pcm_s16le "audioExample.wav"
There's more options if you want to try fine tuning it. If the ffmpeg documentation isn't all that good, try downloading the standalone version of the Dynamic Audio Normalizer. It's help files are fairly informative. I can't make much noise at the moment (everyone else is asleep) so I haven't listened really closely. -
Hi,I've just tried a freeware program available on this site called the Levelator & subsequently dragged & dropped your audio sample & within seconds the audio was normalized from peaks & troughs a simple but effective uncomplicated software which rectified the issue.Try it!
Similar Threads
-
Use "Line in" or "Microphone" jack as audio output.
By DonSeenu in forum AudioReplies: 3Last Post: 14th May 2018, 03:23 -
How i can encode audio of "REMUX" to "BluRay.720p.DTS" wit handbrake?
By VideoHelp4Ever in forum Blu-ray RippingReplies: 1Last Post: 2nd Jul 2015, 11:41 -
[SOLVED] "--ipratio" "--pbratio"+"--scenecut" "--minkeyint" / "--keyint
By Kdmeizk in forum Video ConversionReplies: 14Last Post: 21st Jun 2015, 07:21 -
[Help] Problems with the "Title Button" in the "VTS ROOT" and "VTS Normal"
By kirous in forum Authoring (DVD)Replies: 8Last Post: 1st Nov 2014, 12:31 -
the "-intra" command in ffmpeg.exe affects encoding "-vcodec copy" mode?
By marcorocchini in forum Newbie / General discussionsReplies: 1Last Post: 23rd Oct 2013, 15:53