VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 21 of 21
Thread
  1. Having an issue with converting a 1920x1080 video in M1v format. It seems despite that the original video I am trying to import is 1920x1080 I still cant seem to change the resolution in the Filters/Preview pane. I want to maintain the original dimensions for the output video, but as you can see in the photo below, the resolution is stuck at 176x144:


    Image
    [Attachment 46577 - Click to enlarge]


    It should be noted that this does not happen if I chose another container, like MKV for example.

    thanks for your attention.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Video Restorer lordsmurf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    dFAQ.us/lordsmurf
    Search Comp PM
    MPEG-1 doesn't support HD resolutions.
    Something is off in the source, probably an extension was misnamed.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Thanks for your reply. I am not sure that M1v cant handle HD as my friend made a 1920x1080 m1v today with this same tool.

    Also wondering if you could elaborate on your statement.. what do you mean by " an extension was misnamed"?

    Cheers
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    Unless your usage of the term M1V is non-standard & unexpected (or just plain false), M1V refers to MPEG1 Elementary Video streams.
    As with most early codecs, MPG1 is restricted to higher modulus factors (Mod8 or Mod16). And RARELY is Mpeg1 used for HD video, so many of its encoder implementations don't support resolutions above SD.

    Now, I happen to have handy a spreadsheet that I created a few years ago that maps out various resolutions and their ARs and moduli.
    For example, assuming you insist on maintaining a 1:1 pixel/sample aspect ratio (aka square pixels), these are the available combinations of resolutions that are 16:9 DAR -AND- still Mod16 on both sides (and are less than or equal to your original)...
    256x144 ((note: even your restricted example is not legit that way))
    512x288
    768x432
    1024x576
    1280x720
    1536x864
    1792x1008

    You could, of course, do what most pros did with SD material: use non-square PAR. That would give you many more, and more standard, resolution combination options (like 720x480).

    Or you could use a more modern & efficient codec like h264, that allows for lower modulus factors. This is usually the preferred option, unless you are hampered by legacy playback equipment.

    Scott
    Last edited by Cornucopia; 24th Aug 2018 at 02:24.
    Quote Quote  
  5. ok lots of good info here. Perhaps you could tell me then. Is it possible for me to convert a 1920x1080.wvm to m1v in the same resolution? If so, how do I go about this?

    Cheers
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    No. 1080 is NOT mod16. You could stretch or pad to 1088, which what many earlier mpg1 and mpg2 encoders did.
    Or you could find a nonstandard, rare, forgiving, special implementation of mpeg1 that didn't require mod16. But that wreaks havoc on the calculations for macroblocks with dct. And then you couldn't be assured of proper playback.

    Again, we think you are mistaken WRT your use of "m1v".

    Scott
    Quote Quote  
  7. nope, I need m1v. willing to go to 1088. what would the other dimension be? ?x0188

    Cheers, and thank you !
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    1920x1088.

    Btw, the generic spec for mpeg1 may support up to 4095x4095, but almost nobody ever implemented it with that much capability.

    Again, why do you insist on mpeg1? You are doing yourself a major quality disservice by not using more efficient codecs. You say you need m1v but have not as yet said why. Perhaps you are confused about your true need.

    Scott
    Quote Quote  
  9. Originally Posted by Cornucopia View Post
    1920x1088.

    Btw, the generic spec for mpeg1 may support up to 4095x4095, but almost nobody ever implemented it with that much capability.

    Again, why do you insist on mpeg1? You are doing yourself a major quality disservice by not using more efficient codecs. You say you need m1v but have not as yet said why. Perhaps you are confused about your true need.

    Scott
    I need it for a tool that will only use m1v. Old school video game stuff. Trust me, id rather be dealing with better codecs but games that are over 12 years old didn't have this technology back then, so alas I am stuck with this format XD

    If you have a moment please take a look at this very short video that shows what the issue is. For some reason Xmedia will not allow me to change the value any higher

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kwXWsNusyv8

    Thanks again.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
    MPEG-1 doesn't support HD resolutions.
    Something is off in the source, probably an extension was misnamed.
    This is entirely incorrect - MPEG-1 support higher resolution than MPEG-2 - maximum supported resolution by MPEG-1 is 4096x4096 - significant difference between MEPG-1 and MPEG-2 is lack of interlace support by MPEG-1 - there is few other limitations of the MPEG-1 but for sure resolution limitation are not limitation for MPEG-1.
    btw from my observations looks like MPEG-1 is one the most compatible modern codecs - supported by definition without additional codecs since Windows 98 (perhaps 95 too).
    Quote Quote  
  11. Video Restorer lordsmurf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    dFAQ.us/lordsmurf
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by pandy View Post
    Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
    MPEG-1 doesn't support HD resolutions.
    Something is off in the source, probably an extension was misnamed.
    This is entirely incorrect - MPEG-1 support higher resolution than MPEG-2 - maximum supported resolution by MPEG-1 is 4096x4096 - significant difference between MEPG-1 and MPEG-2 is lack of interlace support by MPEG-1 - there is few other limitations of the MPEG-1 but for sure resolution limitation are not limitation for MPEG-1.
    btw from my observations looks like MPEG-1 is one the most compatible modern codecs - supported by definition without additional codecs since Windows 98 (perhaps 95 too).
    Well, more accurately, I'm not aware of any software that allows HD MPEG-1.
    Quote Quote  
  12. The old TMPGEnc Plus supports MPEG 1 at HD+ resolutions.

    I just checked: even the old free version support HD+ resolutions.
    Last edited by jagabo; 24th Aug 2018 at 08:00.
    Quote Quote  
  13. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Spain
    Search PM
    That is a stupid limitation of XMediaRecode, but you can do 1080 mpeg1 in it if you select the ouput format as "MKV" or "MPEG TS (DVB TS)", the wen you have the ts or mkv with mpeg1 at 1080 you can extract the m1v from them in XMediaRecode selecting copy instead of encode using the output format m1v.
    Last edited by gdx; 24th Aug 2018 at 08:32.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
    Well, more accurately, I'm not aware of any software that allows HD MPEG-1.
    Some while ago i've tested ffmpeg for UHD resolution, very old QuEnc also support HD+ MPEG-1 encoding (tested this many years ago but it was main reason to use MPEG-1 - encode video with above HD resolution limited by MPEG-2 constrains - funny that MPEG-1 offered slightly better compression gain than MPEG-2 - perhaps due simpler syntax).
    Last edited by pandy; 24th Aug 2018 at 12:36.
    Quote Quote  
  15. Originally Posted by Cornucopia View Post
    Unless your usage of the term M1V is non-standard & unexpected (or just plain false), M1V refers to MPEG1 Elementary Video streams.
    As with most early codecs, MPG1 is restricted to higher modulus factors (Mod8 or Mod16). And RARELY is Mpeg1 used for HD video, so many of its encoder implementations don't support resolutions above SD.
    Mpeg1 encoders are required to pad non mod16 dimensions to mod16, just as h264 encoders do. Lack of support for non mod16 was probably a decoder issue, just as it often was back in the days when Xvid/AVI and mpeg4 DVD players were popular.

    Video To Video Converter outputs mpeg1 up to 1980x1200 (at least using the default resolutions), but as MKV or TS or M2TS or mpeg etc. MKVCleaver will extract it from an MKV as mv1.

    Video To Video Converter is even happy to do mod2.
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	VLC.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	52.1 KB
ID:	46591  

    Last edited by hello_hello; 24th Aug 2018 at 17:51.
    Quote Quote  
  16. Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    The old TMPGEnc Plus supports MPEG 1 at HD+ resolutions.

    I just checked: even the old free version support HD+ resolutions.
    Good to know there is software that can handle the task! I have a trial version that is set to run out in a month.. Can you tell me which version you checked that is free without trial limitations?
    Last edited by Mr.Curious; 24th Aug 2018 at 17:14.
    Quote Quote  
  17. Originally Posted by gdx View Post
    That is a stupid limitation of XMediaRecode, but you can do 1080 mpeg1 in it if you select the ouput format as "MKV" or "MPEG TS (DVB TS)", then when you have the ts or mkv with mpeg1 at 1080 you can extract the m1v from them in XMediaRecode selecting copy instead of encode using the output format m1v.
    Thanks for the info. I tried this before coming to this forum and some partial success but there's part of this I dont understand and I'm hoping you could elaborate on the steps to help me get this going. Could you elaborate on the part where you said:

    "can extract the m1v from them in XMediaRecode selecting copy instead of encode using the output format m1v." When I re-import this MKV file and set the output format to M1v raw video the dimension restrictions are back to those mentioned in the original post .

    Maybe a step by step would be helpful.

    Cheers, and Thank you
    Last edited by Mr.Curious; 24th Aug 2018 at 16:57.
    Quote Quote  
  18. [QUOTE=hello_hello;2527683]
    Originally Posted by Cornucopia View Post
    MKVCleaver will extract it from an MKV as mv1.

    Video To Video Converter is even happy to do mod2.
    Image
    [Attachment 46592 - Click to enlarge]


    I tried using the latest release 0.7.0.2 but I still get this error.
    Strange error message about MKVextract exe. Is this a separate program that works in tandem with MKVcleaver.exe?

    Running Windows 7
    Quote Quote  
  19. Are you using on old version of MKVToolNix? The current version is 20 something, I think (I haven't upgraded it myself in a while). MKVExtract.exe should be in the MKVToolNix folder.

    If you want to keep using the older version of MKVToolNix yourself, download the latest portable version, put it somewhere and tell MKVCleaver where to find it, but you can keep the old version too.

    Alternatively there's gMKVExtractGUI, although it'll probably need a fairly new MKVToolNix too. I think it extracts the video with an mpg extension, but you can change it to M1V yourself.

    I just discovered Inviska MKV Extract too. I haven't tried it yet but it looks promising.
    Last edited by hello_hello; 24th Aug 2018 at 17:57.
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Spain
    Search PM
    do this:
    Image
    [Attachment 46595 - Click to enlarge]

    and ignore the resolution filter.
    Quote Quote  
  21. well I'm back, with the ssame issue that was never resolved. I think it is a bug with the program because I had the height/width working for quite some time but now it is capped at some incredibly low resolution. I have tried a newer version of the program with the same bug.. My resolution width/height are capped and I cant fix it.

    I have tried to do the COPY instead of CONVERT but there is no option to copy on the drop down, only CONVERT

    EDIT -I was able to get the program to allow me to use a custom ratio by clicking on the 32 32 buttons. This hasnt always worked in the past, but for some reason worked today. I am still convinced this is a bug.

    I had to try another method as well and switching from m1v to mpg2 and then back to m1v also worked.
    Last edited by Mr.Curious; 18th Oct 2019 at 20:12.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads