VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hi Folks,

I am a rookie who is stumbling through Divinci Resolve and watching "how to "videos on youtube. I record comedy shows of my students then send them to them.
    Currently I have an MP4 - recorded on my Panasonic HV750 handy cam, which is 6GB large. It is obviously to big for most file sharing platforms.
    Google Drive wont play it saying its processing. My question is how do I use the rendering settings on divinci to reduce its size and quality so I can easily send this file to my students or host it on youtube. I have attempted this a couple of times already, but something isnt right - it keeps saying its going to take 9hrs to complete!!! A normal download of this file takes 2 hours so I can't understand this. Plus if this is just how it is, then it makes the process totally unsustainable. I'm eager to hear if there is anything I can do, any help appreciated!

James
    NZ
    Quote Quote  
  2. I can't help you specifically with Resolve, but...
    Originally Posted by BaseJump Improv View Post
    how do I use the rendering settings on divinci to reduce its size and quality so I can easily send this file to my students or host it on youtube. I have attempted this a couple of times already, but something isnt right - it keeps saying its going to take 9hrs to complete!!! A normal download of this file takes 2 hours so I can't understand this.
    There's nothing unusual about that. Re(rendering) takes time. Use faster compression settings for faster encoding. With some codecs there can be a 100 fold difference in encoding speed depending on the settings. Generally, the slower the encoding the better the quality.